We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taste, Fair Portions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leo's Kitchen Chinese Bistro Restaurant

Leo's Kitchen Chinese Bistro Restaurant
7415 Foothills Blvd, Roseville, CA
19167881998
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 371 restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Taste, Fair Portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ordered some take-out and the food was great. The pricing is average, not a great deal but it isn't really expensive. Plenty of options on the menu so this place has a little something for everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    3
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Nice neighborhood Chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been here several times. My son loves the beef choy mein. It's affordable, quick, and good service. Family run.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have ate at almost all Chinese in town and once this place open many months ago, I stopped frequenting other places. They have a robust selection that even include duck and many other things not found in many places in CA. Their cooking resembles or at least is the closes thing to an east coast Chinese restaurant. I have recommended this place to many friends and they all love it so I invite you to try it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Chinese Food at a Great Price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When this place opened up this year, my husband and I were thrilled that a new Chinese restaurant opened up. It's always a challenge for us to find a good Chinese restaurant that does not use MSG and does not over salt things. We were greeted my friendly staff and were seated right away. And promptly served water! Already I was feeling well cared for. As with most Chinese places, the dishes are family-style. We ordered Chicken Broccoli and Chicken Chow Mein. This also came with a serving of steamed white rice. The food was delicious!!! No MSG was used, the food wasn't overly salty, fresh ingredients were used and the chicken was very moist!! Since that first visit, we have been back several times. A must go to place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese, Affable Staff, Nice Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our party of three wandered into the three-quarters full restaurant at 6:30 on a Friday night. We were promptly seated at a comfortable table. Service was instantaneous. Good buzz, happy wait staff, decent noise level, clean surroundings, understated decor.

We chose the Super Set Family Dinner, which enables each diner to select an entree for sharing from a list of 18 choices. My wife wanted a selection not on the list and the waiter/owner instantly obliged. We chose Orange Chicken, Broccoli Beef and Sweet & Sour Shrimp. The Super Set includes Won Ton soup, Fried Rice and a very nice appetizer of pot stickers and crispy veggie egg roll.

Our group has plenty of Chinese dining experience around the globe and around California. Gotta say it: Leo's Kitchen ranks with the best. First up was an appetizer of crispy egg rolls and clearly home-made pot stickers, accompanied by dipping sauce and that great Chinese mustard for the egg roll. Attractively served, we gobbled it up, commenting on the freshness and flavors.

Next, the Won Ton soup was a home run. Bring more! The broth is strong and the won tons are plump and perfectly seasoned. We've become jaded by mediocre quality at other places. Leo's offering was a very pleasant change. The only thing that could improve it is to bring a large bowl to the table so the patrons can help themselves to double servings.

Coinciding with our last slurps, the entrees arrived. I wish I had my camera as they were very attractively presented. Wow, they all looked terrific and it did not take long for each of us to load a plate from the generous servings. Best of the lot was the sweet and sour shrimp. Plump and tasty shrimp fried inside a delicate covering - much better than tempura. The sauce was perfect. The broccoli beef was also generous and pretty much as good as it gets. The orange chicken? Wow, another home run. And the Yang Zhou fried rice was both generous and delicious.

We ate and ate and ate and still took home two containers of leftovers, certainly enough for a two-person lunch.

Next time, we'll sample from other sections of Leo's extensive menu. The Clay Pots sound appealing, with names like Eight Treasures and Triple Delight. One menu section is devoted to vegetarians (11 offerings). In all, the menu's 15 sections offer something like 200+ choices. And a long Lunch menu dishes up heaping plates for around $6.

The Super Set Family Dinner is priced at $12.95 and is worth every penny. The friendly staff added to our dining pleasure. I think we have a new Chinese favorite in Roseville. And a really grand menu to work through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Kitchen Chinese Bistro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Kitchen Chinese Bistro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo's Kitchen Chinese Bistro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.