We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
6700 Stanford Ranch Rd, Roseville, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 341 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a Chef's Salad, my wife had a Grilled Steak Salad. Both were great. The server was very attentive and accommadating. This restaurant is very clean and well appointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistanly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As you would expect this restaurant is a diner which means it offers a variety of foods to serve a wide variety of tastes. The portions for most plates are huge but if you read the menu there are smaller portion plates offered as well. I've had a number of items from the menu and always the food is cooked properly and tastes good. Great atmosphere and they playmusic from the 50's & 60's. Good value for money. I have been to several Black Bear Diners in my travels and they have never ceased to offer up good food at a good price. Service is always quick and pleasant. Black Bear is miles ahead of other chains such as Denny's and IHOP.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time, ,maybe last time too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nothing new, big porcions but too much of it. my waittress was too friendly some comments where out of place, my utinsils need it to be change becuase dirt on it. also, the person cleaning and setting up the tables got to close to the table with his personal parts it was nasty to watch...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
“processed food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There food is frozen and dried .gravy came from a powder. Portions are big I heard...not ....every where I go you get two slices of meat loaf not one that's small with a tablespoon of gravy. Chicken fried steak ...frozen....the only thing fresh is the bear claws ...I tried twice...I won't be . Back. ......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Huge, yummy breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went around 8:00 on a Saturday and were seated right away. Coffee & juice was served swiftly. Our party of 3 ordered the Bigfoot chicken fried steak & egg breakfast, the California Bacon eggs benedict and a veggie omelet.

We have searched high and low in this area for great chicken fried steak and finally found it! The steak was huge, tender and tasty. The gravy was perfectly seasoned, but we could have used a little more gravy. The 2 biscuits that came with the meal were enough for 4 people. It was ordered with fruit, which was the standard small bowl of cantaloupe, honeydew and strawberries.

The California Bacon eggs benedict was a nice change from the "regular" eggs benedict. It came with thick sliced bacon (instead of Canadian bacon) spinach & tomato. The Hollandaise sauce was topped with a few slices of avocado. The poached eggs were cooked perfectly. The house red potatoes were well seasoned and an excellent choice.

The vegetable omelet was ok....nothing over the top.

The portions were very generous and we brought home plenty of leftovers. The orange juice tasted freshly squeezed.

Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.