We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
6700 Stanford Ranch Rd, Roseville, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 371 restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a Chef's Salad, my wife had a Grilled Steak Salad. Both were great. The server was very attentive and accommadating. This restaurant is very clean and well appointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    7
    5
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistanly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As you would expect this restaurant is a diner which means it offers a variety of foods to serve a wide variety of tastes. The portions for most plates are huge but if you read the menu there are smaller portion plates offered as well. I've had a number of items from the menu and always the food is cooked properly and tastes good. Great atmosphere and they playmusic from the 50's & 60's. Good value for money. I have been to several Black Bear Diners in my travels and they have never ceased to offer up good food at a good price. Service is always quick and pleasant. Black Bear is miles ahead of other chains such as Denny's and IHOP.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time, ,maybe last time too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nothing new, big porcions but too much of it. my waittress was too friendly some comments where out of place, my utinsils need it to be change becuase dirt on it. also, the person cleaning and setting up the tables got to close to the table with his personal parts it was nasty to watch...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
“processed food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There food is frozen and dried .gravy came from a powder. Portions are big I heard...not ....every where I go you get two slices of meat loaf not one that's small with a tablespoon of gravy. Chicken fried steak ...frozen....the only thing fresh is the bear claws ...I tried twice...I won't be . Back. ......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge, yummy breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went around 8:00 on a Saturday and were seated right away. Coffee & juice was served swiftly. Our party of 3 ordered the Bigfoot chicken fried steak & egg breakfast, the California Bacon eggs benedict and a veggie omelet.

We have searched high and low in this area for great chicken fried steak and finally found it! The steak was huge, tender and tasty. The gravy was perfectly seasoned, but we could have used a little more gravy. The 2 biscuits that came with the meal were enough for 4 people. It was ordered with fruit, which was the standard small bowl of cantaloupe, honeydew and strawberries.

The California Bacon eggs benedict was a nice change from the "regular" eggs benedict. It came with thick sliced bacon (instead of Canadian bacon) spinach & tomato. The Hollandaise sauce was topped with a few slices of avocado. The poached eggs were cooked perfectly. The house red potatoes were well seasoned and an excellent choice.

The vegetable omelet was ok....nothing over the top.

The portions were very generous and we brought home plenty of leftovers. The orange juice tasted freshly squeezed.

Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.