We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Gem...phenomenal cuisine in Roseville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Huaca

La Huaca
9213 Sierra College Blvd, Roseville, CA 95661
(916) 771-2558
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Huaca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 373 restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eureka Rd
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A true Gem...phenomenal cuisine in Roseville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a find! We love this place! At last, a new restaurant in Roseville worth talking about. We weren't familiar with Peruvian food, but what a surprise. We're amazed by the superior cuisine, stylish presentation and service quality. The atmosphere is contemporary and relaxed. The portions are large to huge, and are exquisitely prepared by Chef Jean Carlo. Chef Juliano is a master behind the Ceviche Bar preparing 7 unique and delicious ceviches with the freshest fish and ingredients. These are not your Mexican ceviches where the fish or shrimp are minced. La Huaca's are made with large slices pieces. Our favorite is the Ceviche De Recoto which has a great balance of sweetness and heat. It came accompanied with yam slices marinated in citrus and spices as well as a side of the large Peruvian corn kernels. We also enjoyed appetizers named "Causis" which are a combination of imported Peruvian potatoes with shrimp, octopus or meat with delicious sauces, and beautifully presented. The large Nikkei Salad is so refreshing.

There are so many dishes we like, but our favorite main dishes are the creamy Peruvian Seafood soup with fish and perfectly cooked shrimp with chili peppers and rice, the slow braised Lamb shank, the Filet Mignon pasta dish, and the shrimp pasta with cherry tomatoes, asparugus in a unique Peruvian sauce. There is such a variety of items on the menu that there is something for everyone. We so like the Peruvian wines and beers, but also like the creative Peruvian specialty drinks.

We highly recommend La Huaca for it's quality cuisine and professional and friendly service at a great value. Thanks to Miguel, the Chefs and servers for making our dining experience so memorable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband, daughter & I love good Peruvian food so we wanted to give this a try. It was a weeknight & we did not have a wait. We had a marvelous meal! We started with ceviche and grilled octopus salad. Everything was really excellent - my salmon was extremely moist with a chimichurri sauce, quinoa and artichokes. My daughter had duck over some fabulous rice creation -that might have been the big winner. Can't remember my husbands meal - he ate it too fast! We did not order wine.

We plan to make this a regular. Only suggestion is that a bit lower prices would have us returning on. Weekly basis versus our planned monthly 'splurge'.

Good luck to la Huaca! We so enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California, United States
1 review
“Great Peruvian Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the most amazing Peruvian Restaurant that we have found period! We usually go to San Francisco to eat Peruvian food but now we will be staying local! My husband is from Peru and is very picky with his Peruvian food and this way surpassed our expectations! The service is amazing and quality of the food is amazing! The food was very authentic and I just can't say enough about it - you have to try it! The portion size, the price = perfect! The ceviche was mouth watering!! We take leftovers home and eat the next day! I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comida peruano--que bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just ate at this relatively new restaurant that serves Peruvian food. The food was very fresh, tasty, and the service was excellent. They weren't busy as it's a Monday nite, but they are going to add a Happy Hour, so get it while you can! Muy rico! Reminds me of the year I spent in Colombia. Where can you go to get yucca? I had the lamb-tender and tasty, and my hubby had the pork and yucca which he really liked. And definitely get the dessert! Nothing like Dulce de leche!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Peruvian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited La Huaca after a friend's reccomendation and also taking advantage of a Groupon discount. The food is excellent with large portions. We read at another restaurant review site that the food was not tasty and that the portions were small. I don't know what they mean by small, we certainly could not finish our plates. It is a bit pricey but quality does cost a bit more.
Try the Pachamanca de 3 Carnes, yo get a large plate with Beef, Pork and Chicken with a brown sauce plus baby corn, 2 types of baby potatoes and small corn cake. It's more like a two-person plate. Also try the Causa a la Limeña, or if you want try the Causa sampler. We wanted to try some of the desserts but we were so full that we could not get a chance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Huaca also viewed

 

Been to La Huaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Huaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.