We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boudin Sourdough Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Boudin Sourdough Cafe
Roseville Pkwy & Galleria Bvd, Roseville, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 341 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A really great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a treat, reminds me of San Francisco! My wife and I had half sandwiches. With them I had the clam chowder and she a salad. The sourdough bread brought me back to past days in San Francisco. The service was excellent, both friendly and efficient. The follow up by the server was appreciated. I highly recommend this establishment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

There bread is as good as you can get in San Francisco. Love the sandwitches. Check out their breads for holiday dinners too.

Brad

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, today
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Say it Bowdeen or Boo-dan, it's darn good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Boudin sourdough is an old San Francisco favorite, so when they opened their informal restaurants they became a big hit. Of course, freshly baked on site top notch breads, soups, burgers, sandwiches, indoor and outdoor seating, to go, and the option to order in advance via the 'net. It's on the smallish side and very popular, so one can find SRO conditions at times, but the queue moves quickly and once orders are taken, it's promptly brought to your table.

My favorite is their baguette burger - the beef is antibiotic free, all natural Angus, and as I don't eat beef regularly I like to save beef time for good beef. The sourdough baguette burger here doesn't disappoint, and accompanied by a freshly drawn Anchor Steam beer I can reminisce and visualize myself in The City with the fog creeping in over the Marin hills and through the Golden Gate bridge, reading Herb Caen's column in the Chronicle...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Roseville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Caesar salad here is huge with tons of dressing. If you have never had sourdough bread, then you need to come here.

The food is cooked on the spot. The clam chowder is served in a scooped out sourdough bread bowl and is delicious and filling.

If you like air conditioning, then you will be comfortable here. There is also an outside eating area if you like the sunshine.

It is located in a shopping area called The Fountains in Roseville with lots of parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went here for lunch with my wife had the half sandwich and salad. Both were fresh and great! Ham for me and turkey for my wife with the caesar salad. Water to drink.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boudin Sourdough Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Boudin Sourdough Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boudin Sourdough Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.