We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tower Theater
417 Vernon Street, Roseville, CA 95678
916 782 1727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 attractions in Roseville
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So sad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Badly in need of TLC. Bad viewing, bad sound, and no one seems to care. We want to support independent businesses, but we need some value for our dollar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am not sure if the Tower Theater or the Crest Theater are my favorite in Sacramento but both have a great atmosphere. The big screen is much better than the two smaller screens so beware. But, a tub of popcorn, a Sprite, and two hours later I feel like I have been to a mental spa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“funky and indie . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Tower is the only theater left in Sacramento where you can regularly find independent (including foreign) films. While a bit funky inside, (hey, it's old), always a good bet for serious movie goers. Lots of history around this corner too; old location of Tower Drugs where Sal Solomon started Tower Records, now a great restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Yes, it's old. If someone tall sits in front of you, you might have trouble seeing. Oh well. Great indie movie selection, nice staff, and the popcorn is so much better than the typical rubbish at larger theaters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Terrific venue with an art deco look. This was our first time to this venue where we saw David Wilcox. The acoustics were perfect and it looks like every seat offers excellent viewing.

The theatre has a bar section where you can get drinks and snacks. There is also ample free parking either on the street or in the parking garage next to the theater.

We are always looking for music venues and we will certainly return to this theater.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Theater also viewed

 

Been to Tower Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tower Theater to your Saves list