We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Sandwich best, Clam Chowder worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suede Blue Restaurant

Suede Blue Restaurant
1400 Eureka Rd, Roseville, CA 95661-3030
916-782-5525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 371 restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunrise
Orangevale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Steak Sandwich best, Clam Chowder worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our first visit, but won't be our last. We visited at lunchtime. It wasn't busy. We initially ordered the clam chowder. The waitress assured us that it was indeed homemade and very popular. No question that it was made in-house. It was positively the worst clam chowder that I have ever had. It was promptly sent back by both of us.

However, the restaurant somewhat redeemed itself with the steak sandwich. It was outstanding. My friend had another soup which she seemed to like. We will try the food again in January.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    7
    7
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have had dinner, at Suede Blue, several times in the past few years. The ambiance is very nice, attractive, but not stuffy. Great fireplace. Happy hour is not to be missed. Servers have always been the best. The menu has a variety of exquisite dishes and I have never had a meal that I did not thoroughly enjoy. Have clebrated a few birthdays and anniversaries there and the experience has always been outstanding. The restaurant now serves lunch, too, and look forward to testing that menu sometime soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service...empty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Went to Suede Blue last night with another couple and had a very nice dinner. I really like the Seafood here...actually prefer it over McCormick and Schmicks. Halibut with Wasabi mashers was great. Appetizers were very good. Wine list could be better. Service was very good.

The most surprising thing last night was how empty it was. Friday night at 7:00pm, saw 4 people in the bar and 3 other tables in the dining room. When we left at about 9pm, I think there was one other diner and only 2 people left in the bar. Maybe Roseville has too many restaurants for the state of the economy. I remember when this was Carvers and it was packed on Friday nights. There are so may good choices for fine dining now. I really hope that this restaurant is able to survive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They did not have the bottle of champagne we wanted $38, so the next was $80... no discount for being out of stock or anything.

My beef wellington ordered medium to medium rare was cooked ok for half of the steak and raw on the other half, not top down, side to side. Not sure how they did that but it was not good.

The Creme Brulee was warm on top and cold on the bottom... again not so good.

My wife's crab stuffed shrimp were overcooked.

The Brie was good, but that is a little hard to mess up.

Won't be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor food at Suede Blue”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm not talking about the happy hour-I'm talking about dinner with another couple. Service was dreadful. The server took forever to come over to our table once we were seated. We asked the server several questions about the wines on the list. At least he was honest enough to tell us that he didn't know anything about them. Goodness, an upscale restaurant promotes wine but doesn't teach its waiters about them.

We all ordered steak which took forever to come. As our too honest waiter admitted, the steaks were grossly overcooked by the kitchen, and they had to cook new ones. Too much information. Unfortunately, although the steaks were at the temperatures we ordered, they were rather tasteless.

Nothing in this restaurant is inexpensive, but the quality of the food itself isn't very good. The ambience is pleasant, but the waitstaff is poorly trained although earnest. Honestly, I wouldn't come back here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suede Blue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Suede Blue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suede Blue Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.