We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If a door won't let you go through it, go to an open door.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger's Restaurant

Ginger's Restaurant
1410 E Roseville Pkwy, Ste 140, Roseville, CA 95661-3059
916-781-0110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 375 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If a door won't let you go through it, go to an open door.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I tried to go to an Open Mike at Ginger's on Monday. The door wouldn't open due to air suction. No one bothered to fix it or let me in so I walked around and went back. I sat and waited for my half-dozen friends to show in the cool looking waiting area. The owner, as it turns out, came up and bullied the hostess about how she was or wasn't taking reservations. Then my sweet server kept trying to upsell me to food and alcohol. I do not drink alcohol and I had an upset stomach. I paid for my $2.85 ginger ale, gave her $4 told her to keep the change and left. I will never go back. Maybe the owner can't pay his mortgage or should have had a shot of tequila to loosen up. Beautiful restaurant and menu and servers. Crappy attitude by the owner. Pushy and bullying - no thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fun place .. Island/Hawaii atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Breakfast, lunch & dinner restaurant. Good food, excellent service, great variety to choose. Overall, good value for your hard earned dollars. Only ate there twice, both in the evening, so no comment on other day times. Our food came out in a timely fashion, cooked to perfection, and presentation & taste were great. Actually met Ginger and her husband .... nice people.

Side note: Ginger's offer a live band after 9 PM, on specified evenings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Left early will not likely return - Owner doesn't have a clue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went there with my wife around 4:30 - lookin' for a cocktail, and appetizer and maybe some food - had to search out help - The server was doubling as host, bar tender & waiter - took a while to get the 1st drink - Ordered an appetizer - the food was was dropped off and the waiter ran away I saw a guy that looked like the owner (he was) - he was entranced by flirting with some older women (the only other people in the place) - my wife and I were ignored - I uninterrupted the owner to ask for some help getting another drink - he looked bothered to be inconvenienced - but found someone to help (he personally made drinks for the women) - the appetizer was a hot crab dip I believe - the portion was minuscule - when the drinks came, the server looked embarrassed and asked if we would like some salsa for the remaining pile of red and blue chips - we declined and asked for the bill - The menu is all over the place, something Restaurant would chastise - the chips were not fresh, the drinks expensive - too many other choices to return here unless I happen to see this place on Restaurant Impossible - the atmosphere was the only thing positive

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helen, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food was excellent, the decor was very pleasant, and the service was friendly, attentive and professional. Very nice experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Like the Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We particularly like the breakfast, particularly sitting at the outdoor patio. The last time we went for dinner we were a little dissappointed in the food. To be a independent restaurant these days I think you really need to be at the top of your game. Overall the atmosphere is very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger's Restaurant also viewed

 
Roseville, CA
 

Been to Ginger's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.