We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yard House

Yard House
1166 Roseville Parkway, Roseville, CA 95678-1967
916-780-9273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 338 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lousy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Everything was great, the food, beer, ambiance, price, location... except for the lousy service courtesy of our male server named JAMES. I was there with my friends (8 of us) celebrating 2 birthdays and 1 who was recently engaged on a not so busy monday afternoon from 1415 H-1700H, 28 October 2013. We noticed that it takes him a looong time to get back to us, check how are we doing, deliver our order, etc... COMPARED to other tables near us. There was a time I asked him for another beer and he said ok but looked at me with a not so very nice facial expression. When he brought our second bill he just laid it in our table without saying anything. So we decided to transfer to the bar where we were treated with utmost respect and courtesy. Maybe because we have brown skins, but we have 3 white people with us and we were not noisy, unruly whatsoever so I didn't know what the problem was. We would have ordered desserts but half of my party decided they had enough ( 2 of them were 1st timers) and decided to leave instead because of the not so good experience from this server. Little does he know that we all work with a company who treat people with dignity and respect, and practice a 4 diamond way of customer service. Again the name of the male server is James!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Niles Y - Thank you for celebrating a couple birthdays and a recent engagement with us. Unfortunately, the visit did not go as well as we would have expected. Regardless of how good the food and atmosphere are, a visit where the service is unfriendly and inattentive inevitably causes disappointment. You and your party are certainly deserving of better service than what you described. Sorry for not doing a better job. The details in your review gave us a clear understanding of our opportunities, but we were hoping to gather a few more specifics so the necessary corrections can be made. If convenient, please email me at yhguest@yardhouse.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    70
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome beer selection, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Came here with some business colleagues and everyone's impression was about the same. Out of our three meals one was very good and the other two average (ribs being the best). The beer selection was amazing but a little pricy. Service was excellent as was the atmosphere and would defiantely go back and try something else to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Vseven - Thanks for sharing your review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our beer selection, service and atmosphere. We only wish you had enjoyed all of the meal. You mentioned the ribs were good, but the other two entrees were just average. We are sorry for letting you down. In hopes to learn more, could you email us at yhguest@yardhouse.com?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Eh.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The title says it all. Ok food, nice beer selection, expensive for average food, noisy, nice decor. Not much else to say.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi notme11 - Thank you for recognizing the quality of our beer selection. We are interested to learn more about your food comments as "okay" is not the type of meal we are hoping to provide. We are capable of better. Sorry for underwhelming you. When you can spare a moment, please contact us directly at yhguest@yardhouse.com. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail so the appropriate corrections can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hard to get in but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We tried unsuccessfully to get in here on Friday and Saturday nights. Wait time over one hour. So we tried again on Sunday evening and got right in. Great selection of beers which pleased the hubby. We started with edemame appetizer which was just right. The tortilla soup was so yummy filled with lots of chicken and big chunks of avocado and just the right amount is spice. We shared the Thai noodle salad which was more than plenty for 2 and was quite good. I would not wait over an hour for this (or any) restaurant, but glad we were able to enjoy it without the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Get there before 6 pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Get there before 6 pm and take advantage of the 1/2 price appitizer list. We had a great meal on 4 appitizers and a single "street" taco. Really more than enough for 2. The Kung pao calimari is a must.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.