We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food in Roseville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roseville Gourmet Restaurant

Roseville Gourmet Restaurant
107 South Harding Boulevard, Suite A, Roseville, CA 95678
916-784-8008
Update restaurant details
Ranked #90 of 366 restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Chinese, Californian
Restaurant details
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Roseville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They consistently serve fresh delicious food, especially impressed with the quality of the meat they use and the freshness of the vegetables in the dishes they serve. I have asked many times for a custom dish there, such as "Salt and Pepper Chicken" and it's the best version I've had at any Chinese restaurant hands down. Get the Egg Drop Soup, it's the best take on it yet. The couple that owns/runs this place have been there for many years and it's a hidden gem in Roseville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not bad...but not special either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The food is ok...really nothing special. You can go to Panda Express and get as good or maybe better. Expecting excellent Chinese food here is like going to Taco Bell and expecting decent Mexican food! Not going to happen. But it might do in a pinch if you just gotta have that 'egg roll' or pan fried rice. I'd wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was looking for lunch place, and chose this restaurant after reading the Yelp reviews. It was completely underwhelming. The place was empty when I arrived about 1:30. I guess they were saving electricity, it was very warm in the dining room. I had "Explosion Beef" lunch special. Whoever said their food's not greasy must be joking. I soaked a napkin squeezing the excess oil from the eggroll. The black bean soup wad tasty, but lukewarm and served in a tiny cup. The fried rice was passable, and the beef dish tasty, but very oily and pretty skimpy for $8.00. Not impressed at all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Egg Rolls on the Planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the most favorite family restaurant as our children have grown for the last 23 years. This is the first place we go out to eat when my daughter is on college break is Roseville Gourmet. Although the names doesn't imply Chinese Food, it has the best Chow Mein, Walnut Prawns, Lemon Chicken, Sweet and Sour Chicken anywhere. The beef Laughing Buns are wonderful...I usually order to go when we have our meal, and have them the next day for lunch, so good. But, I have saved the best for last...the Egg Rolls are THE BEST ANYWHERE! I have been to many chain and family Chinese food restaurants, and have never found better egg rolls.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lemon Chicken Lunch Special - awesome for a decade +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Roseville Gourmet is our Chinesse restaurant of choice for lunch in Roseville. I started eating there in high school, and while I'm in my mid 30s now I still love to go and get the lemon chicken lunch deal.

Yummy yummy yummy, the best lunch plate in town. I love the black bean soup on Saturdays that comes with the meal. It's a great deal for about $8. Way better than Fats or PF Changs which are good but overrated, especially given their prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roseville Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roseville Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roseville Gourmet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.