We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse
1200 Roseville Parkway, Roseville, CA
916) 580-2100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 372 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $7 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long wait and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was ok, and the pizza was good. Our service wasn't the greatest and we waited a long time! A little disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Twice for lunch in a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great business lunch experience. Our group ended up there twice in a week thanks to their lunch specials. Yummy food at a great price. Friendly staff who had no issue splitting up checks for business travelers .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of Panache but Food is So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've driven by many times and wondered why there was always a crowd outside waiting for tables. Had to be a really good place, right?

So, passing by around 5pm on Friday afternoon, we decided to earlybird our dinner because no one was waiting. Well, that was mistake #1. We sat for 15 minutes before out LED pager blinked.

Once seated, the wait staff was excellent and helpful. They should have been in the kitchen, as the food proved to be a little disappointing. First our starter of onion strings turned out greasy and the onion flavor was hard to find (although it looked delicious). My hefeweizen pint was poor -- no head at all. Although the menu didn't say who made it, I suspect it was a Widmer, which I avoid when I know. The Biersch hefe served across the street at the Galleria is the real deal. Should have gone there as the food is also a lot better.

I had Mahi fish tacos that had to eaten with a knife and fork because they were single wrapped and simply fell apart after adding some sauce. They were also bland -- which the sauce fixed. The plate includes some triangular torilla chips and two small dips - red and guac green. These dips were the most flavorful thing on my plate.

My partner ordered a chicken breast dish that was pretty good, and generous. It earned 4 stars. But the rest of the meal had trouble getting to 3 stars.

By the time we left, the place was hopping and we waded through a crowd diners outside the front door. Most had kids with them and maybe this explains the crowd. It's a vast place, set up for families, groups, couples etc. Service is prompt. If we go another time, we'll try something else to see if we can do better than 3 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Not Up to Usual BJ's Standards!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We usually love BJ's - we go to one near where we live in Arizona. This BJ's in Roseville, CA, unfortunately did not live up to the BJ standards to which we're accustomed. I'm rating this average because my meal was OK, but my husband's was horrible!

As I mentioned, my meal was fine;the Parmesan-encrusted chicken (even though they were a little stingy with the sauce). But my husband's meal, the pot roast sandwich, was a disaster! The meat was fatty, there was very little gravy, and ALL of the vegetables were literally uncooked! The onions and carrots were raw. My husband hates to complain in a restaurant, even when something is really bad, so he sat there and crunched those raw carrots and munched down the fatty meat. I think he was so hungry (the friends we visited are vegetarians) that he just figured something is better than nothing.

My husband was so looking forward to a hearty, delicious meal and was disappointed all the way around/

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“THE PLACE TO DINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived early and by noon, the restaurant was packed. Service very good and very attentive. Food was fresh, very good, especially the Chicken Teriyaki. Staff appears happy and has a good sense of humor. You can't go wrong here, as evidenced by the number of diners!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.