We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Cat House" in Rosemond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cat House

The Cat House
3718 60th Street West, Rosamond, CA 93560
661 256 3793
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Rosamond
Type: Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a small non-profit exotic feline breeding center about 1 hour north of Los Angeles which houses over 70 exotic endangered cats.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"The Cat House" in Rosemond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Exotic Feline Breeding Compound in Rosemond is well worth a visit! Many cats on display, great gift shop, special activities - see their web page. Can't pet um, but can get real close for great photos! Babies in spring.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My daughter, my grandson (2 1/2) and I had a wonderful time at the Cat House. The facility was very clean and the employees were very information and friendly. I would recommend this to anyone! The cats looked well fed and beautiful. I couldn't get enough of them. We will be back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not really their fault, but disappointing after long drive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First, it was some sort of grade-school outing day, so there were hordes of little shriekers running all over. Second, out of perhaps 30 enclosures, there were only maybe 3-4 where any cat was visible - most were inside sleeping I guess, or were hiding from the invasion of loud children. Can't really blame either the kids or the operation - but it was a long drive there for not much to see for us or our out-of-state house guests.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Cat House is an exotic cat breeding programme, trying to help the endangered large cats of the world. It is a little bit off the beaten track, but do take the time to find the compound. The directions on the webpage are spot on. The area is in the middle of nowhere. Yes, it can be very hot, so best to go as early as you can in the morning. Alternatively, every so often there is a twilight tour - check out the website. Also, if you go early in the morning, the keepers are generally cleaning up and putting fresh water into the cages, so the cats will be disturbed and more likely to be moving around. You are free to walk around and you can actually get very close to the cages.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great to see that all of these animals are looked after so wel l. All of the areas were really clean.
Incredible variety of cats. There were also some peacocks roaming around.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cat House also viewed

 

Been to The Cat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.