We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get it right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and WiFi Packag
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't get it right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The hotel has very nice grounds-- that's the good.

The bad.....
Everything about the hotel has flaws and seems to fall apart.
Let's see, in the room, the toilet leaks, the tv blinks every 5 minutes and the volume raises, and the closet door was falling off the hinge. Bird turds on the windows (which had a nice view) that looked like it had been there a while.
The elevator kept breaking down, which isn't a big deal (the hotel is 3 stories tall), except if your 90 year old parents have to go up and down, which we did for a wedding reception.
The restaurant has good food, but the service is painfully slow. Oh, and the menu doesn't reflect what you get (the menu says fruit and potatoes for breakfast, but the server says, no its either or).

Like I said, the hotel is nice, but it's like..... can't they do anything right?

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    296
    152
    50
    25
See reviews for
176
305
45
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This hotel has really well-appointed and relaxing common areas, including several gas fireplaces. It was clean. However, the guest room in which we stayed was cramped, certainly smaller that those found in Courtyards or Hilton Garden Inns.The couch was right against the bed and the closet was about two feet wide. The pillows were extremely thin, and I had a hard time sleeping, although the bed, itself was comfortable. We are Hilton Honors Diamond level members, but the free breakfast was Continental only, and the instructions for our free high speed internet access were inscrutable. The access was between $10 and $13 for guests who are not Diamond members. All-in-all, I'd say the hotel would be good for business travelers, but not for leisure travelers who planned to be spending time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Large rooms, upgrade bedding through hotel, staff accustomed to dealing with VIP's and high end vistors. We noticed Secert Service there escorting State Department individual during our stay and was informed that this was commonplace. The resturant and bar were outstanding, as was the room service. Go into Santa Rosa (about 7 miles) and try the Russian River Brew Pub for the pizza, as shown on various TV cooking and eatery shows.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My Stay could have gone better, the online checking actually took more time then if we had not used it, Staff was hot and cold some were great an another argued with me upon checkout. The manager did offer a free night as compensation due to temperature issues but that gesture will be unfulfilled due to the stay being a one time Northern CA wedding. If you are looking for a quite experience you might want to look somewhere else due to large amount of children that were staying on a Sat night. The manager assured me that steps were to be taken to fix/upgrade the front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

I wanted my mother-in-law to experience Wine Country before we drove into SFO the next day. The hotel was lovely. It came with wine tasting that was delicious. We got a spread of appetizers to go with the three different white wines.
The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable.
I would return. Great experience and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This is a great priced hotel with all the add ons except free internet. Everything from parking to checkout was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Doubletree Sonoma is affordable, clean, and close to Sonoma wineries. If you are looking to be in the center of all of the action this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay and rest up before heading out for some fabulous wine tasting, consider this location and check out the pizza place in the shopping center. The staff although very small ( I think I only saw 2 people at the front desk) is very nice and helpful. While the beds are comfortable, this hotel could use a little help in the soundproofing department. Request a room on the third floor. I was constantly woken up by the stomping in the room above and could hear the shower being turned on and off. I think I knew the folks above entire routine by the end of trip, bathroom trips and ALL! In addition, it did not get any better when housekeeping came through to clean. Definitely no need for an alarm clock if the people above you are early risers, but otherwise a comfortable stay. Also, I’d caution when using the computers in the business center, after using one my personal email account was hacked.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.