We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the Burbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rohnert Park
Highland, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Out in the Burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I book this room, because I never stayed in Sonoma . The hotel is located on a golf course just about 1 mile of the highway. The rooms are a decent size, clean and nicely decorated.They do offer you warm cookies at check in and there is always chilled water in the lobby. This a pet friendly hotel and there is enough grassy areas to walk the dog. They had a spa/pool are wit a fitness center. All of these areas were closed, due to construction. I was really disappointed, because I was on a road trip and really looking forward to a workout followed by a soak in the jacuzzi. They have a restaurant on the premise, but we opted to eat at Japanese restaurant at a nearby strip mall. The positives points of this hotel are the rooms, lobby and the spa/fitness area. The negative points for my stay were this hotel is isolated, and the spa/fitness are were temporarily closed. Some of hotel staff were great and some were indifferent. This is good for someone traveling on business, because of Hilton's standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear darlenelynn,

Thank you for your candid feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room and our lobby area.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience that our renovations caused you and hope you will have an opportunity in the near future to enjoy our pool and fitness center,

Warm Regards,

Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    248
    124
    45
    23
See reviews for
147
253
36
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

the extra and overs expensive, works going on in the hotel with no compensation, the pool was out of use! no cookie offered at arrival which was a shame because its are really good connection the room was great food good...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Shelly B,

It is very disappointing to hear that you were not welcomed with one of our famous doubletree cookies when you arrived at our property.

It is our goal to make sure that each guest is greeted in this way.

I would also like to apologize for our pool being out of order during your visit.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to make up for these challenges during your next trip to wine country.

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Warm Regards,

Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

One night stay on our Road trip, had stayed in Paso Robles the night before and under estimated the traffic through / around Oakland. Wanted to visit the Naked Wines Tasting Room (we are UK members) in Kenwood but due to traffic we pretty much missed the opening hours as we arrived at 1700 just as they were about to close, many thanks to Andrea who stayed open long enough for us to taste a couple of local wines and buy a couple of bottles from them.

Large hotel with gold course and grounds surrounding, we paid $170 for a one night room only stay with wifi and breakfast included.

Very nice lobby / bar area and the staff were friendly and efficient.in checking us in. Room was a good size and it was nice to have a desk and separate chair in which to relax.

Room Service and even Restaurant choices were a bit limited which was disappointing but the Bacchus Burgers we ordered were good.

The Breakfast buffet was decent without being overwhelming, had prepaid for breakfast and could have ordered off the menu or taken the buffet - I prefer the buffet option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AHWBeverley,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a destination during your road trip.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience.

We hope to welcome you back on your next adventure.

Warm Regards,

Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have never felt so unwelcome at a hotel. When I arrived I could not stop in front of the door to check in, because the hotel’s van was parked there. It was not unloading, it was stored there. It was there all night and still there in the morning, and was a huge hindrance to traffic at the front door. I also found that this large hotel has only 2 disabled parking spaces, and both were occupied. I had to park in a very distant parking lot. This hotel has unusually small parking spaces which makes it especially difficult for a disabled person to get out of a car. I hiked back in to the hotel, then I stood in a very long line and waited to check in. I spend a lot of time in hotels, and I have never waited this long to check in. There were only 2 desk clerks, and they were not in any hurry. When I finally was allowed to check in, the desk clerk instructed me to go back to my car and put a parking ticket in the window. I told her that I am disabled and parked far away due to the hotel’s inadequate disabled parking. She brightly stated “ok don’t worry about it”, without addressing the parking issue. So I wondered, why did she ask me to place a parking ticket in my car if I don’t need one? I worried about my car all night. Although I told the desk clerk that I am disabled, I was not offered any help with my luggage. This hotel has only one elevator, and it lurches and bounces in an alarming way. Most rooms are a very long walk from the front of the hotel, but mine was fairly close to the elevator. This hotel does not want disabled people to stay there. If you are disabled, or if you care about the fair treatment of disabled people, don’t stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try the nearby Hampton Inn, much better hotel for a lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SQ1845,

We truly apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay at our property.

It is of course our goal to ensure that every one of our guests feels welcome and comfortable during their visit.

We did previously park our shuttle in the front of the entrance in order to make it visible to guests so they know it is available for their use.

However we do not wish to cause any difficulty for our arriving guests and have therefore changed the location in which we park it.

The Doubletree by Hilton Sonoma Wine Country is also finishing up a major renovation that was done in order to make our location more ADA friendly.

Thank you for informing us of some areas of improvement for our hotel.

We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you the wonderful service and accommodations we are known for.

Warm Regards,

Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed one night here on way from Seattle to L.A. We really enjoyed the property and the staff were so polite. The room was a nice size and very clean. Bathrooms are important since I have a wife and two girls. It was very clean and nice as well. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jonfo1969,

Thank you for your glowing review.

We are grateful for your business and look forward to hosting you again during your next vacation.

Warm Regards,
Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafer, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here a week in the beginning of September. What a great place to call home! The rooms are nice and the staff is awesome! Especially the guys on the night shift and Addie down in the restaurant for breakfast! The outside square was so much fun! We got a glass of wine from the bar, sat outside on the comfy couches and had a mesmerizing fire to watch! They set the fire all up! It is centrally located to all the attractions, wineries, and the coast! Snuggle in for a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Get an inside room overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Diane H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We’re so glad to hear that your sister and yourself enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you “home” in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel last week (even though we had 4 nights booked), I had to leave due to construction being done at the hotel. I cannot tell you how fantastic the customer service was during a very difficult situation. I will not go into detail ; but I must commend their Manager, Ian, for his true professionalism. (He knows what I'm talking about). Doubletree is very fortunate to have such an outstanding employee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will gladly go back next time I am in the area. All of the employees were outstanding; but Ian went above and beyond and I thank him for that! Shout out to Renee and thes rest of the front desk staff also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear doliveira9284,


Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback regarding your stay with us
.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that our construction caused you, but are very glad to hear that the situation was resolved to your satisfaction.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.


Warm Regards,

Steve Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.