We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rohnert Park
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Family of four adults needing two clean rooms and a fitness center for a trip to Napa and Sonoma. We stayed here for five nights because we didn't want to move hotels and we enjoyed our stay. We did a lot of driving but I wasn't able to find any hotels closer to Sonoma/Healdsburg that were comparable in price& reputable and weren't so far from Napa. Plus when I looked into the Hilton in Sonoma it was a bit more expensive but equidistant to all locations as the doubletree.
We drove into San Francisco twice because there wasn't much going on in the area.
Rooms were spacious& comfortable with mini fridge& closet that fit the carryon bags.
Fitness center is smaller and you step outside to get to it. there is an outdoor (supposedly heated-I didn't check) pool but it was too cold to swim, hotel has friendly staff. Balcony is shared with everyone on your floor, we kept the door closed. It's kind of an odd shaped hotel build in a circle. Free parking, welcoming fireplace& sitting area in the Lobby. Id stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    219
    106
    41
    20
See reviews for
118
228
33
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Quick one night stay, everything was great. Breakfast was good, cooked to order omlets for a bit of an upcharge. We were there in quite season, so decent upgrade as HHonors Gold was had. Able to get out and on our way to Napa the next morning with no problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect from a Double Tree. Cookie at check in, friendly front desk, simple, comfortable room.

It's not particularly near anything, but everything in Wine Country is spread out. If you are passing through or not staying long, this is as good a place as any. It seemed to have a lot of tour groups. The room was unremarkable and there really are no views of anything here. It's just a room, but it's quiet and clean and has a balcony.

The continental breakfast would have been good, but we upgraded and weren't disappointed. We had dinner at the little Italian place in the strip mall next to the hotel and it was good, especially for families.

If you are looking for a wine country experience, this is not what you are looking for. However if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay on the way in or out of the area, it's fine and the highway is easily accessible.

Room Tip: Afraid there aren't a lot of choices for an exceptional room. Maybe an interior room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok if you need a night but other than that their are cheaper better hotels on the area . I think the rooms were old and beat up and their hot tub did not work . The rooms are strange because she all share a long balcony . So I looked out on tube balcony and their were people sitting out by my door !!

That's just weird .

Looks elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

To be fair, the hotel is not all bad. The surroundings are nice, the public areas are pleasant and the breakfast was above average.

Our stay, however, was disppointing. We booked the hotel as a nice place for the last nights of our holidays. We booked through a booking site for the full non-discounted rate.

At the check-in, we were told that we couldn't get the King room we booked because "you cannot guarantee a room type for third-party-bookings". We were given a room on the back side of the hotel, with a window that didn't open. Or rather, as their technician showed us, you had to use a lot force.

My partner complained loudly at the front desk, at which point we were given a better room, and even a bottle of wine to make up for it. This almost pacified us, at least until they didn't make up our room at all on the next day. The explanation was some unintellegible mumbling in the voice mail. When we complained again, they gave us a free breakfast - after telling us we must have left the sign on the door (we didn't).

When dealing with the front-desk staff we always had the subtle feeling not being treated as "proper" guests - since we booked through a third-party site. At the same time we saw them bending over backwards for Hilton "status" customers. Only the girl we addressed our complaints to when checking out showed some real empathy.

All in all: The rooms didn't have a higher standard than cheaper places we stayed in. Basic anemities like Wifi and breakfast came with a hefty price tag. Service was sketchy.

After coming home, I got a customer questionaire and I clearly stated our complaints. As a thank-you I started receiving Hilton's advertising newsletter.

I'm pretty sure you will have a nicer (and cheaper) stay if you are a Hilton loyalty program member. But why bother?

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Doubletree would get higher marks if it weren't for its name and location - it's a decent hotel. The rooms are nice, include a mini frig and plenty of space. The beds are comfortable but all the pillows are of the mushy variety. The bathroom is also nice and fairly spacious for a hotel. The desk staff is pleasant, helpful and generous, giving us two bottles of water upon request each day.

What the Doubletree lacks is self-awareness. This hotel is NOT in Sonoma nor is it in "wine country". For Hilton to name this hotel "Doubletree Sonoma" is entirely inaccurate. It might be in Sonoma county, but it's 20+ miles from Sonoma and 30+ miles from Napa, so definitely not anywhere near wine country. I can't imagine anyone using this hotel for a trip to wine country unless they are willing to rack up a lot of driving miles and spend the difference in cost between this hotel and something more local to Sonoma/Napa on fuel.

Location and name aside, there's nothing wrong with this hotel for under $100/night. Just don't expect it to be near anything for a trip to San Francisco / wine country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The property is easily accessible from HWY 101 and location is very good to go to wineries in nearby Sonoma or north of Santa Rosa areas such as Alexander, Dry Creek and Russian River valley. Being a Hilton Gold member did bring us some nice extra benefits, including complimentary breakfast, two water bottles, free wi-fi, etc.(see photo). The hotel itself is well renovated, with big large lobby and a baby grand piano, living room with nice fireplace, active room with pool table, and library seating arrangements, plenty of seating to relax for guests. Golf course is next to the hotel so I imagine they do quite a bit of conferences and weddings, etc. as the conference facility looks very well organized. From check-in reception (great job Jordan!), to waitstaff in the restaurant, everything was done correctly and efficiently with friendly, courteous, and professional attitude. Our room (parlor suite) was nicely furnished with a jaccuzzi tub in the bathroom. The king bed was super comfy with nice silky linen bed sheets. Crabtree & Evelyn products are nice products also.
Overall, highly recommend the property for a relaxing vacation in the wine country setting. Good value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA
Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.