We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and WiFi Packag
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great service and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I'm writing this review in the room at the hotel. The hotel is clean, nice lobby and pool area. The room is also clean and comfortable. Although they should include more bedding for the sofa bed. Ask for more bedding if you need to use the sofa bed in the King room. When I booked the room in the last minute on the day of arrival, I didn't realize it was a smoking room until after I booked it; but I thought all hotels are non-smoking now, so it could be a used-to-be smoking room; if not, I'll request an upgrade to a non-smoking room as I'm a gold member. When we arrived, the front desk said no more non-smoking queen room available, and gave me the key to check on the smoking room. It smelled horrible. In the end, the front desk upgraded us to a king non-smoking room with lanai. At least there was a sofa-bed we could use. It has a blanket but my son said he felt cold throughout the night and couldn't sleep well. So ask for more blanket or a comforter if you plan to use it. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is also nice and service is good. Overall, it's a fine hotel that we enjoy; plus my DH and DS are enjoying the two golf courses around the hotel.

Room Tip: lanai room is good; ask for more bedding if need to use sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Director of Front Office Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Hello Milku,

I am sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the smoking room but I am glad that we were able to come up with a solution for you and your family. We will also take note about the bedding on the sofa and see if we can work out a solution for future requests to make sure that everyone is comfortable. Thank you again for the kind review and we will see you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Iain Scarr
Iain.scarr@hilton.com
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    294
    152
    50
    25
See reviews for
175
305
44
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The food is excellent and as you might expect the wine list is wonderful. The staff while delightful and customer focused is remarkably uninformed about wine country. Given the distance of the hotel from the actual vineyards made some sense; however, the name made me think someone would know something. We finally found some knowledgable staff who were very helpful and gave us great ideas.

Also, the airport shuttle noted on the website is actually a bus that costs $34.00 and requires a transfer if you fly into Oakland. I called ahead of time to see what I needed to do to catch the shuttle and was given a phone number to call. Surprise it costs $34 and they only take cash. More information would have been helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Director of Front Office Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Hello Vicki E,

I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the staff’s knowledge of wines and wineries in the area. If you are available I would like to find out more about your experience so that we can make future stays more pleasant for all of our guests.

Warm regards,

Iain Scarr
Iain.scarr@hilton.com
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed here several times during trips to wine country. We have always found it to be friendly and comfortable. This is a great location to explore the great quality wines in a less crowded area. The staff is very helpful with free tasting coupons.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I enjoyed staying here, I know other reviewers have mentioned that the hotel needs an updating, yes it can use one,however, that is pretty much the cars with ALL the hotels in these neck of the woods. The rooms were fine and the beds were nice. liked the pool area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The problem with this hotel is that is does not rate with the usual accommodations that one would expect at a Doubletree hotel. The layout of the room was not efficient; the bed and rest area are cramped and it does not lend itself to the best use of space. The lobby is well appointed and there are computers available, a nice fireplace and a restaurant. The common areas of the hotel are very nice (pool, lobby, restaurant, gift shop, and business area); aesthetically appealing really, this is a part of the reason why the rooms are a disappointment. However, I must stress that things like a microwave or ample space for clothing and snacks are pretty standard. This was disappointing for a Doubletree to not have these areas built in. Also, the room floors need updating; the carpet in the hallways are old and torn. Overall, I was not impressed. I won't be back, even though the beds were really comfortable! Although I do agree with the other reviewer about the woman in the gift shop; she makes a mocha latte that is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our round about tour of the Napa/Sonoma trip. They gave us hot cookies at check in -yum- and our room was large, two beds and plenty of space for luggage to be strewn and have walking space and two sinks made for easy getting ready! Quiet in the rooms too. We were there on a night where they had a free wine tasting (they do this regularly, with vineyards bringing their wines for sampling) in the main lobby area with some cheese and crackers and fruit. Very nice. They gym was clean, had towels and sanitation wipes for equipment, water fountain, eliptical machines and treadmill and some weights, mats and balance ball. There was a shopping plaza close by with some restaurants but we drove for dinner. Restaurant on property was ok, not amazing and had higher hotel pricing so I would recommend eating out if you can. Cookie cutter style hotel, but the service and cleanliness make it worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here as part of a group, so really had no choice. The hotel was probably chic in its day, but its day has long passed. Dated decor and stained carpet in the hallways detract. Bathrooms are adequate but not up to current "spa" hotel baths. Towels and bedding are nice, with lots of pillows and fluffy towels that are actually big enough to wrap around yourself. But the real issue for us was not the facility but the lack of customer service. After battling highway traffic for two to arrive from SFO, we asked directions to a nearby restaurant. The answer "I don't know" was less than helpful. We put up the "do not disturb" sign when we went to breakfast (no free breakfast, by the way) and housekeeping went into our room anyway. When I called the manager to complain, he promised to bring up breakfast vouchers, which never arrived. I had to explain the whole story again to another manager. Perhaps most perplexing in this day and age is that the hotel charges $10 a day for Wi-Fi. Really? I can get it for free at your little brother Hampton Inn. And will, next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.