We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, dilapidated hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience, dilapidated hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree in Rohnert Park for 8 days right before Thanksgiving week. What a disaster the building and facilities are! We were shocked. Being Hilton Honors members, and having stayed in many Doubletree and Hilton chain hotels, we did not expect this. The building itself is old, and it seems like they bought it out from an old Marriott or something similar and then did not have the money to remodel and repair the place. It was gross. During our stay, the elevators broke down and trapped people inside, the glass doors to the entrance of the lobby got stuck and almost squished our 13 year old daughter. The card swipes on our hotel doors would only work about 50% of the time, so we had to swipe over and over again to get into the rooms, and even had them reprogram our cards, but the problem was the door reader. The internet server was so small that it could not handle the capacity/needs of all the guests so you could not get pages to load at all. We paid around 10 extra dollars a day and the server would not send a consistent signal. We went down to the lobby to use the hotel computers and printer and it was just as bad. Another guy was on a computer too and he was cussing up a storm because he could not load a simple page to buy an airline ticket. They need to triple their server size and not charge a dime for internet access until they do. We had time sensitive business to take care of and had to go elsewhere to connect to the internet -- every single day!!!! There was also a daily fiasco in the morning with the breakfast buffet. They only had one waitress most days and she was frazzled. The breakfast is supposed to stop at 11:00 or 11:30 and we got there at 9:45 and they panicked, saying it was getting late and we should order from the menu instead. ?? We said: "Isn't the buffet open until 11:00/11:30?" And a hostess ran over looking panicked and butted right in and said, "Well we don;'t expect people this late." This happened 3 days in a row, at 9:45 - 10:00ish. So we went out and got bagels instead for the next two days not wanting them to freak out when we arrived around 10:00. It made no sense since the buffet was still supposed to be open until 11:00/11:30, and they had no answer for us when we pionted that out. They looked sheepish..but would not answer us directly. Another bizarre thing was one of our rooms had a SGARED balcony and we were not told this. So when we opened the sliding glass door to air the place out and then went out to run an errand we had left our room totally exposed to the people next door and down the way who all shared a balcony with us. How ridiculous is that? To not be able to open your own window for fresh air without exposing yourself and your belongings to other guests who share your balcony. Unbelievable. No forewarning and we were not offered a different kind of room - which is shocking because we are Hilton Honors members. The rooms are clean enough, but decorated in old, gross furniture, with wicker chairs, yes wicker, and dingy old cushions on them. All we kept saying is this cannot be a Doubletree. They must have ran out of money before being able to remodel. JUst a horrible experience and so disappointed. Our past stays at other Doubletrees were always great. This one was a shock. Stay in Petaluma or Santa Rosa instead!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    319
    162
    52
    26
See reviews for
188
324
47
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice now and find this hotel very convienent for visiting sonoma county and quite charming. The hotel is quite large with modern amenitites. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. There are two hotel lobby bars and a very nice restaurant on premisis.
The staff is always available and very out going. We were quite delayed coming in on our flight and then subsequent drive up from San Fran and the front desk was still occupied and we did not have to wait at all even though it was 2:30am. And the chocolate chip cookies they great all guests with were warm even at that hour.
The gym is rather small but still serves it purpose and the hot tub and pool seem very welcoming.
The staff is also very helping if looking for local activities, wineries, and restaurants.
Overall- very comfortable hotel right off the highway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I had a conference located at this charming hotel and although the conference was tedious, this hotel made it refreshing enough. Love the chocolate chip cookie when I checked in. The staff was friendly and the hotel itself was cozy. Driving into the location is a bit confusing and no signs to the hotel. Construction added to the confusion and got me lost. Signs would have made it easier!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

You are greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies! The rooms, beds, pool, patio and wine bar are premium. We felt very welcomed and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary at an event in Petaluma, but when we couldn't find a hotel in Petaluma, we expanded our search and found the Doubletree up the road in Rohnert Park. I am so glad we took the little ride. The hotel is lovely and well maintained. The lobby is spectacular but the biggest surprise was the Bacchus restaurant. With two nights in the area, we ate at the restaurant both nights opting to try different entrees.

Room Tip: We had a choice of views and opted for a view of the pool. There were people every evening in the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel isn't "in the middle of it all" but it is in the middle if you are touring the whole wine region of Napa, Sonoma and Russian river. The pool is nice and parking is spacious. The rooms are fine, too. It isn't spectacular but there's nothing wrong with it either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were visiting the area for a cycling event; last year we stayed in Santa Rosa, and thought we'd try a different area this year. Rohnert Park feels like a suburban "community"; the hotel is located in an area close to big box stores and fast food outlets. It lacks the "quaintness" of many of the other Sonoma area towns. The hotel itself is located next to a golf course and has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Both times that we went to the pool, there were no towels available.

The hotel lobby is open and spacious. The check-in was efficient and we were greeted with warm cookies - a nice touch. However, the staff at the front desk, though polite and wanting to be helpful, seemed to lack the resources to make any recommendations for places to visit outside of Rohnert Park. Asking for directions and recommendations to local wineries was difficult, and no one had any recommendations for dining in Sonoma or nearby Petaluma. "I don't know" and "I'm not sure" seemed to be a common response. At all of the other hotels we have stayed at in wine country, hotel staff are very forthcoming with winery recommendations and will offer vouchers to be used at the wineries, but this time, we had to ask about vouchers, and the staff did not seem to know very much about the wineries or the areas they are in (which are all very close to Rohnert Park).

The room is pretty standard - a good size, but in need of some updating. There was a pull out couch in our room as well as a king sized bed. The linens aren't the highest quality, especially the towels which felt a little thread bare. And as someone else mentioned, the toilet paper was really rough!

Ample (and free) parking, and overall value made this a good choice, but lack of ambience and Rohnert Park in general is a drawback.

Dining tip - we did end up finding a great restaurant in Sonoma - The Girl and The Fig - the best grilled cheese sandwich I've ever had. They also make their own fig-scented lotions and soaps.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.