We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem off I-80” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocklin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rocklin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocklin Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5450 China Garden Road, Rocklin, CA 95677   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Rocklin
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem off I-80”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Good location for visiting family between Sacramento and Auburn and touring apple country and a concert in Shingle Springs. Front desk staff and housekeeping staff were wonderful. Very quiet room with beautiful balcony view. Nice complementary breakfast and great hot beverage machine accessible all 24 hours. Pool area and gym looked very inviting, though not used. Has large event center if needed. Comfortable room with microwave and refrigerator. TV was adequate for the time we were in the room. Armoire storage/closet do limit size of tvs, which wasn't really a focus for us. Nice sitting area, desk and balcony areas. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask to look at two rooms that may be available. They will escort you and let you choose. Rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    6
    8
    14
See reviews for
17
14
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel at all. The staff seemed to be inexperienced and service was virtually nonexistent. For example...there is a sign at the front desk to use the phone in the breakfast room to contact staff in the event no one is at the reception. Surprise...there was no phone in the breakfast room. This was typical of our the whole facility. The rooms are okay and passable. However, on check out, it was impossible to get a receipt for our room. We have never encountered this in all of our travels throughout the world. The manager told us that since we had a confirmation from Expedia, they did not have to give us a receipt, yet at the time of check in they demand to get an impression of a credit card. Did not like this hotel. Did not like the staff who were clueless, but I think this is more a reflection on their lack of training than anything else. All in all we couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Groom of a wedding party here. We had a great weekend with nothing but help and understanding from the staff. Really pleased. Nice rooms. Hot tub should have been warmer but the sauna was great. We partied in a large conference room late into the night :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Horrible stay! Checked in late with my teenage son who had just finished a cross country race. The first room we were given was already occupied, the clerk comes running down the hall shouting "stop, stop!" just as we were about to enter the room. The second room we were given had a defective shower that couldn't be used. The third room we were given had no working a/c or fan, and the t.v. didn't work, but that was the least of my worries. During the night the bed frame broke!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at this Rocklin-area hotel. It is accessed by a potentially confusing frontage road (since it is highly visible on the south side, you will see it before the exit, if East-bound). The price was very reasonable (about $80 with tax; AAA/AARP discount) and is a good value for the price. The room was clean; and had microwave, refrigerator, Wi-Fi. The bath soap bar is minuscule, as is the tube of body wash, so bring your own.

The "balcony" is so-so, only because the scrub-land is not scenic. Our room (west-facing) was quiet, and there was no noticeable I-80 traffic noise. The service is adequate, but not cheerful or gracious. The breakfast was meager. The bacon was greasy, and was probably the smallest-sized bacon I've ever seen. I looked at the scrambled eggs, but could not bring myself to eat any. The automated waffle-baker produced holey waffles (use more than the cup they provide). We ate in the breakfast room -- completely by ourselves -- but if crowded, I can't imagine that enough food would be available. The only positive service experience was the young lady that asked us if she could get us anything else, and I appreciated the gesture. On the whole, if you're on a budget, the hotel offers good value for the money, even if not perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not the newest, landscaping is neglected, they don't have flat screen tvs (what possible difference could that make to anything?), but everyone was extremely pleasant, the pool is clean and in good shape and has lots of chairs, the room was clean and odor free, bathroom is completely acceptable. The window treatments and shower curtains cost someone a lot of money at some point. Our room had a fridge and microwave and little coffee maker. We spent 8/16-17/2013 here (2 couples) to go to a Franki Valli concert at Thunder Valley Casino ten miles away, which was outstanding, by the way. They don't seem to have an ice machine but ice is available. Candy machine and soda machine. Hot breakfast in the morning which I can't review because we skipped it. They had freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at the reception desk in the afternoon. It's right on the freeway (I-80) but we had king balcony rooms on the hill side. They were utterly quiet. View of greenery was nice, two chairs and a little table on the balcony. Temp outside was 90-100 our air conditioning worked great.

The restaurant and bar are apparently not open, doesn't really matter since there are hundreds of choices of places to eat within just a few miles. There is a Safeway just across the freeway and a Starbucks a half mile down the road.

We would go back. We even talked about just packing our patio umbrella, a cooler of adult beverages and snacks and heading up for a weekend just to enjoy the pool. we had it to ourselves but the shade is sort of minimal - just one umbrella table so the four of us sat at one end of the pool in the shade of the umbrella and moved to the other end when we ran out of shade. The noise of the freeway at the pool is not the least annoying or loud, just a white noise similar to wind in trees. We live in the San Francisco Bay Area on the water so do not get the heat the Valley gets in summer, it's nice to be warm for a change.

For the price, $105, you really can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RocklinParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Rocklin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jojosail2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return soon to enjoy the pool. We have hired a landscaper and have installed an ice machine in the main building. We hope you will enjoy your stay even more the next time you come. Please let us know of any additional services that we can provide to make your future stays more comfortable. Thank you again!

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Manager, Rocklin Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It pains me to see the negative reviews, as I really like this hotel. It is pretty, really well-located, includes breakfast, and has everything you need in a comfortable room. I highly recommend getting a room looking over the back forests, as the balcony is very peaceful. The pool is small, but refreshing. I have received some very good treatment from the managers and staff and am grateful for the kindness they have shown me.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RocklinParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Rocklin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kimberley42,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We continue to strive to provide our guests with excellent service and your feedback is very helpful to us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Manager, Rocklin Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocklin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklin Park Hotel

Address: 5450 China Garden Road, Rocklin, CA 95677
Location: United States > California > Rocklin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Rocklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocklin Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Rocklin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocklin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.