We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn Express Rocklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn Express Rocklin to your Saves list
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4480 Rocklin Road, Rocklin, CA 95677   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rocklin
Portolla Valley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked a room using united miles. Unfortunately there was a fire in the Rocklin area so the hotel smelled of smoke (not its fault), but the hotel itself is pretty run down and has an interesting clientele (guy in a wife-beater t-shirt walking in with a 6 pack of beer). We decided to move down the road to a less smoky location, but also to find a hotel that was a bit more upscale.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again , I apologize for the inconvenience during you stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    9
    10
    22
See reviews for
30
17
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
schaumburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was given a room that was occupied by someone else, walked in to find someone in the bed. Check in took way to long and was told I needed to come back in a hour to sign the paper. The room was disgustingly dirty. The mattress was ripped and stained. The sheets had blood stains and appeared as if they were dirty. There was fecal matter from I hope a dog on the elevator floor. I have enclosed photos as they are worth a thousand words.

The police squad of 5 cars was there in at 6:00 AM. You couldn't pay me to stay in this motel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again , I apologize for the inconvenience during you stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed at this budget hotel several times and this is our third review. Our king bed room is always clean and comfortable but this time they did not give us a microwave or frig, even though we requested them. There are lots of people who live here permanently so there are some drawbacks. The breakfast has deteriorated since we first started staying here. By 7:15 AM the breakfast food is almost completely gone--only bread, cereal and toaster waffles left. Even the juice was gone. No one comes to replenish the food table. The staff is helpful but there are always a lot of people hanging around. Still---it is definitely a bargain and our room is always comfortable. Wifi is good. Suggestion to hotel--use regular king sheets for the king beds, not California king sheets which are too small and come off in the night. If you do not require luxury and want a clean, budget room--Heritage Inn is still a bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again , I apologize for the inconvenience during you stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, lots of cute retirees, families and a boys sports team that wiped out the nice little breakfast which helped us start our day. Staff was quick to fix and accommodate. Walking distance to food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do every thing possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Yes, I'll agree this hotel used to be very inexpensive. Maybe people are still getting incredible deals, but we were charged $20-30/night more than previous visits--just $5 difference from the comparatively luxurious HoJo next door. Room reasonably clean, can feel springs in mattresses, flat pillows, threadbare sheets, visibly stained--REALLY stained--box springs, full size box springs under queen mattress, spit wads on ceiling, curtain rod falling off wall. These things used to be reasonable given the low rate, but not anymore.

'Continental breakfast' used to be bagels, frozen waffles, fruit and cereal. Now it is just bread for toast, green (unripe) bananas, and cereal. Unheated pool dirtier than past stays. As usual, the hot tub is wrapped in yellow caution tape, filthy, and unavailable for use throughout our 2-week stay (third summer running).

The free wifi is terrible. Could never get more than 1 bar and nothing at all in lobby area. They offer 1 HBO channel but the signal is wavy as if you're watching it underwater. Staff explains that these are as good as they can get from local provider.

If your computer can connect with Ethernet, bring the cable if you want a decent signal. No flat screen TVs so don't plan on using video game consoles.

Every summer, groups of gypsies have made their way through. Interesting and colorful--they tend to sort of take over the place with kids running around, everyone up very late, lots of swimming in underwear or clothes. Ok with me, though others not so much.

Spent time in the lobby in evenings when my son had a flu. Noticed obvious working girl traffic going on regularly at night--especially over the weekends. Loud group of men raucous and drinking for hours at the pool, and then in the lobby till after 2 am. Unsupervised kids running around, hanging out in lobby, and banging doors, running in and out till after 1 am. This hotel has big problems so often that the police circle it several times each day. Arrests are not unusual.

Staff may be friendly but not very good at keeping things peaceful after 10 pm when most places want it quiet. These young people mean well, but clearly have had little training to deal with issues (even a replacement lightbulb). Maintenance only available certain days so our bathroom light was out for a few days. Manager is never around and ineffective to deal with a complaint when you can reach him.

We finally escaped to the Howard Johnson next door. It's like a resort in comparison! Comfortable, quiet, spacious rooms with flat screen TVs and several HBO channels, as well as many other channels not offered at Heritage. Hot complimentary breakfast, gym room, attentive staff with hotel training, thorough housekeeping. Certainly worth the $3-15/night (depending on rate you had at Heritage). We figured the breakfast alone made up for the price difference!

Both allow pets. Seriously consider whether saving a bit of money is worth the obvious undesirable element that has become the norm here.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the trailer park and Howard Johnson are quiter. They offer rooms with a counter, mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It has come to my attention that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. My sincere apologies to you. I assure you that all the problems listed with the room, breakfast, and pool area have been addressed and our goal is to continuously improve our service and property to maintain and exceed guest satisfaction. If you plan to travel in the near future please consider our hotel again; we would love to accommodate you once again.

Sincerely,
Braham Dev
General Manager at Heritage Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I do not like getting ripped for just a room while passing thru.

So, in researching a property near Sacramento this popped up.
Hummm, some of the reviews gave me pause BUT how bad could it be??

It's NOT bad at all, in fact it's VERY nice.

It is NOT the 4 Seasons, nor a Hilton. However with a welcoming array of flowers at the property I was hopeful.

Yep, the room was just fine.
Plenty of space, clean and the a/c worked (it was 103 that day).

It's in what seemed to be a safe and well lit area out from the higher priced properties closer in.
It was only 20ish minutes from the intersection of 50 & the 5.

I do have to keep it real - the breakfast area may leave you looking at the Jack-in-the-box next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the frwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do every thing possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really helpful, friendly staff. Stayed here on our way home from disneyland. Dirty towels in our room, broken lamp, broken chest, broken light in bathroom...beds looked clean and fairly comfortable. Pool was really dirty, and the hot tub was broken and also very dirty.. but it was 65.00 a night.guess its true that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braham D, Manager at Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again , I apologize for the inconvenience during you stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly (916) 632-3366

Sincerely
Braham Dev
General Manager
Heritage hotel group
bdev@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn Express Rocklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn Express Rocklin

Address: 4480 Rocklin Road, Rocklin, CA 95677
Location: United States > California > Rocklin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rocklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn Express Rocklin 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Inn Express Rocklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin Hotel Rocklin
Heritage Hotel Express Rocklin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn Express Rocklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.