We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skipolini's Pizza & Pasta

Skipolini's Pizza & Pasta
6600 Lonetree Blvd, Rocklin, CA 95765-3737
916-789-1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 119 Restaurants in Rocklin
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

From the outside, I thought this was more of a mom n pop place. Inside is very fancy looking. While the staff was really nice, when we got there, we waited for anyone to notice we were there. I was thinking it was a seat yourself place, but it had a host spot. The menu is small, but what we got was really good. They have many options for the pizza and you can see them making the pizza's. It's pretty cool. It did cost a little more than I thought it would've. When we went we were still eligible for the lunch menu, but it's only $1 less than the regular price. there were 3 of us, 2 being kids and we still paid $40

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbit1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Northern California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love the atmosphere and food here. The pizza is delicious, the salad is fresh and tasty. Their lunch specials are phenomenal - generous and reasonable. The staff is welcoming, friendly, and service oriented.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I typically do not write negative reviews after one visit unless the experience was particularly horrible. I figure everyone can have a bad day. However, I had the Italian Panini and it was quite possibly the worst food I have had in my life. It was just awful. The Caprese salad was very average as was the Wedding Soup. What makes it worse is that this place is not cheap. Needless to say we will not be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid, dependable, a little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We return to Skips about once a month because the food is dependably good and the atmosphere is very good. The restaurant also includes a really nice gelateria that serves genuine Italian sticky ice cream.

Our most recent visit -- two of us -- was typical. We ordered the Bruscetta appetizer and a big pizza. The appetizer was a wow. Skips has a good attitude about appetizers. They take a standard Bruscetta (basically, a grilled slice of sour dough layered with mozzarella, sliced tomato and spices like garlic and some green stuff) and serve it on steroids (not literally) in the form of bite-size grilled chicken cubes heaped on top. Basically, they turn a large sliced crouton into a mini chicken, cheese and tomato chunk pizza. Very pleasant.

We've gotten used to Skip's pizza. It's not a 10 or a 6, but somewhere in between. This time, our thin crust (which we prefer) was tough. Maybe the dough had been out too long or had been punched down too many times. Otherwise, it had generous quantities of the toppings we selected, and the anchovies on the side were also generous and fresh.

Is it just me or should a meal like this with soft drinks exceed $40 for two? I guess prices just keep going up everywhere and I should stop noticing.

You can eat inside or out. On hot nights, Skips has a misting system that drops 100 degree air to around 75 at your table. On cold nights, Skips provides those large propane patio heaters.

As Arnold says.... "I'll be back...".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been to Skipolini's three times and have enjoyed my experience at each. The food is consistantly good and the service has always been excellent. I have had enjoyed their pizza, a salad, and a pasta dish. The breaded green bean appetizer was delish! The atmosphere is casual and they offer both indoor and outdoor seating and the location is convenient. They are family friendly and kids have the opportunity to make their own pizza that is then baked and returned to them so that they may enjoy their creation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipolini's Pizza & Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Skipolini's Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing