We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chef's Table (Rocklin)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chef's Table (Rocklin)
6843 Lonetree Blvd #103, Rocklin, CA 95765
(916) 771-5656
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chef's Table (Rocklin) is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 109 restaurants in Rocklin
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Blue Oaks
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Chef's Table is the kind of neighborhood gem that we love to discover. The food is imaginative, fresh and equals fare that we've had at much pricier " gourmet" restaurants. Very casual, our server wore shorts and yet was astute enough to decant the nice bottle of wine we brought along. My dining partner's sea bass was delicious and my own pork chop dish had me almost licking the plate clean. I get the feeling that the menu changes frequently depending on what's fresh and in season.

Our biggest quibble was being seated at a table right next to the entry door in spite of asking for another table and being told that it was the only available table We observed another table that remained vacant during most of our dinner. We got the feeling that the vacant table was being held for "regulars." We will specifically request not to be seated next to the door and recommend that prospective diners do the same. If you like to be a part of the action, a seat at the counter will allow you to observe the meals being prepared and you interact with the chefs.

Don't let the strip mall location put you off. If you love good food and don't mind an informal setting, you'll like The Chef's Table.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    9
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FAIR OAKS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great Food. Will definitely return. Try the ahi, calamari, salads and bacon brownie. Great service. Be sure to leave a message on the blackboard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful, not what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife found this place looking for something new to try. I will admit when I pulled up, the front was not impressive as it's part of a strip mall. When we went in though, it was much different. Very intimate and nice, with outstanding food. This is a classic place for hard core foodies. You can see the cook from most places in the restaurant. The dishes were very unusual. Salads, entree's and desert were wonderful, as was the wine. Definitely a place worth trying

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Calif.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I noticed this restaurant when reviewing OPEN TABLE to find a place to take my wife for my birthday. Of course I then jumped on TripAdvisor and decided we would give it a go. As stated in other reviews the location is nothing great and the place is very small. We found it to be quirky, in a good way, with excellent service and great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food in a strip mall, in the suburbs..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ive been coming here since it opened. The menu used to change quite a bit but it has become a little more stale as of late. The items of standout are the Brined Chicked, Bacon Brownie, and the Pork Lollipops. The lamb meatball linguine is also very good. The food is always very good and the prices are very reasonible for the quality. The space is VERY small and has very little ambience. Its all about the food..and the food is done well. One would be well advised to make reservations as they dont have alot of tables, and you dont want to end up at the table by the refrigerator. On wed they offer free corkage on your own wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chef's Table (Rocklin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chef's Table (Rocklin), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.