We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Long Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had a family event to attend in Riverside and the Courtyard was the closet hotel. We stood one night and the overall quality was good for the price we paid. Free parking, pool closed at 11 pm and local pizza deliveries were available till 3 am. Only downside is theirs not much to do in Riverside, or at least near the hotel that I saw. But overall they had great customer service and the rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view, waking up to the view of the mountains was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are very glad you enjoyed the view of Box Springs from one of our balcony rooms, the other side of the hotel has more views of Downtown and Mt. Rubidoux in the distance. Let us know next time you are coming to Riverside and we can help suggest some fun things to do as well as nightlife in the area. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
11
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You can tell this hotel has a GM that really cares about customer service. ALL of the staff that I interacted with (Front desk, Housekeeping and Maintenance) we all very friendly and very helpful. We had a situation where we needed 2 rooms together as my wife's 88 year old grandmother needs extra help with getting around. We had booked our room several week before she did and so they were not a joining rooms. The hotel was completely booked (youth soccer tournament), but they worked it out for us and got us 2 rooms together!

I highly recommend this Marriott if you need to stay in Riverside, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so glad you had a great stay Larry G and we loved that we were able to accomodate your family needs. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Courtyard Riverside and thank you for the great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel great, room great, loved the view was on the 4th floor facing mountains.

Breakfast buffet outstanding and person in charge most attentive.

However thiis hotel needs to fence (iron gate) the property from the public.

Was agressively panhandled 2x and attempted to be sold stolen goods while having a smoke.

They need to gate it like in Puerto Rico, the neighborhood is sleazy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Riverside is a very beautiful city and we are very glad you were able to enjoy the views of Box Spring Mountain from your room. We will pass on the great comments as well to our breakfast team, they work very hard and they do a wonderful job. I apologize for the encounters you had outside, we do want all of our guests to feel safe and we do our best to keep the area secure, we will however review our procedures in lieu of your comments. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This isn't the best Courtyard I've stayed in. The building, while in decent condition, just has a kind of tired feeling in the hallways and lobby. Nothing wrong with it, but it just has that feeling. It is located near downtown Riverside, which is a pretty cool place (never been there before), with several nice restaurants, as well as the usual college bar stuff. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful, with breakfast suggestions when we wanted to go out, restaurants downtown, and there was just a feeling that they would go the extra mile if needed to provide good service. That's what gave this review a 4 star instead of 3.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here with us at the Courtyard Riverside Downtown/UCR Area. Our team here is amazing and I too believe they are worth a STAR! I will definitely share your comments with them. We will have a renovation/refresh coming up soon and we will keep everyone posted when this is to begin. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is centrally located, close to the freeway, walking distance from many good restaurants. The staff is friendly, and considerate. They have a nice little bar, a bistro and a morning breakfast!! I would stay there again. Great managers too!! It is just far enough away from the university that you wont be bothered but close enough if your visiting your child. Large guest rooms with micro wave and mini fridge.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Our team here at the Courtyard Riverside is amazing and I am so glad that our guests can see it too. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

While this courtyard has been updated, it is still lacking the usual/new courtyard appearance and feel. The rooms were ok but the beds are too soft. The lobby is decent with a nice bar and breakfast room. The employees were all friendly and helpful. The location was good for restaurants and proximity to the university. Overall, this was an okay place to stay for what we needed to accomplish while in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We have some geat news for you! While we are very proud of the way our team has cared for this hotel we are actually putting our plans together now to update this property with the brand new Courtyard room and lobby designs. We of course will let everyone know when we do actually start. Thank you for taking time to review our property, and I am very pleased that you mentioned our associates and how helpful and friendly they are, we will share your comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Property does not have the typical "courtyard layout" but is more of a highrise typical of some older Wyndham properties. Parking is FREE...previous reviewer must have stayed downtown at regular Marriott. This hotel still offers free coffee in the lobby because it has not received the dreaded "bistro update." Area around hotel is OK but try not to venture too far to the east and south at night...pretty sketchy near the RiteAid plaza. Bus service excellent...stops right in front and it is a quick trip downtown to the "fabulous" Mission Inn. BTW, on the hotel property there is an interesting older home called the Weber House where one of the designers of the Mission Inn once lived. It is now home to the Old Riverside Foundation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are we glad you enjoyed your stay here in Riverside. Riverside is always progressing forward and this area has seen many positive changes and there is much more to come. We do enjoy our location by the college and the ease of getting to all areas quickly from our hotel. Side note on the Weber House when it was built it sat in the middle of the orange groves, Pete Weber and his family would actually sleep on the roof during the summer. The Foundation has done a wonderful job with the upkeep. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area

Address: 1510 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Riverside Hotel Riverside
Courtyard Riverside
Riverside Marriott
Riverside Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.