We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star in generous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Cruz Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Cruz Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Cruz Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3425 Market Street, Riverside, CA 92501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Phoenix Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One star in generous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

No fitted sheets to cover the very stained mattresses. No bathroom mirror. Old, very noisy room air conditioner missing most of the grill parts. Gross bedspreads that looked like were purchased from a garage sale. Paint does not cover dirtiness. No coffee maker. They charged for the ice machine! Paper thin windows equals very noisy from street noise. No extras. They don't even include the basics. We needed a shower after leaving this hole in the wall.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
4
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I figured that if I got a motel room in Downtown Riverside,
what could go wrong?
My room was at the top of the stairs, furthest West, right
next to busy Market Street. I heard every car, bus, & Harley
that drove by. It was like I was out on the city bus bench.
I am not sure, but I think the walls are made out of rice paper
or nylon tent material. The windows are single pane. They
leave a balcony door open right next to my room. When I
went to close it, I found it chained open.
It gets better. The neighbors played LOUD music then started
a house fire. I had to endure smoke, sirens, fire trucks, & police
helicopters with spot lights.
If you like excitement in your life instead of sleep, then the Santa Cruz Inn is for U.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Booked this hotel to be able to attend the local airshow, however they cancelled the airshow at the last minute and this hotel had a no-show policy of a couple of days so was stuck having to go and stay there.

Really wanted to stay at the Mission Inn, but was way too expensive. So found this place close by so I could at least see the Mission Inn and see what all the fuss was about. This place was a couple of blocks away from the Mission Inn and close by to a the historic downtown. Lots of interesting places to see and all close to each other.

The hotel itself is really a large motel. They have daily room rentals on the building up front and monthly rentals in back. This looks like it might have been something special a long time ago, but appears to have added the parking on site, which takes away from what could be a hidden gem. The interiors are outdated and worn down. The floors and stairs creak and make noise. My room was on the second floor in the main building with the room being off the main corridor. It wound up being a corner room with high windows on the bed wall and a small balcony with double wooden balcony doors. The bathroom was a good size and appears to have been updated fairly recently. The room itself was a good size too as there was a full size and twin size bed. There was also a round table with a couple of chairs, a small fridge, and flat screen TV up on the wall. The sink was also in the bedroom, which is something you see more in European hotels or old historic hotels in the US. The beds were OK, nothing wonderful, but not disastrous.

There's really not much around, though I did go to the CVS across the street late at night to grab some milk and donuts to munch on. The parking lot is small and lucked out on getting the last spot just before checking in.

All in all for the price I knew what to expect and might stay here again if the price is same or lower and only needed to stay for a short while.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This a very cost effective place to stay. If you're looking for updated and contemporary, then this is not the place for you. It's outdated, but clean. The hotel is located on a major street and you definitely can hear traffic and sirens. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to the Mission Inn and next to a pharmacy. Starbucks is next door. There are plenty of restaurants within driving/walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here January 2011 and are making arrangements again for this January 2012. It was clean and comfortable. Some rooms are very small but the one we had was fine. Bathroom was good which is often a problem in economy motels. The grounds were cared for and staff was nice. Not everything was the greatest but for the place and money it was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Staff was very friendly and accommodating.The room we were assigned was neat,clean and very charming.Santa Cruz Inn is a building of significant historical value which we simply loved!All in all we had a fantastic stay..will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

First off, let me stress that I wasn't in the market to stay at a hotel for the ambiance during my trip. I just wanted a cheap hotel that was clean and located in the Riverside area. I had a very nice sized room with two queen size beds (forget room number, but room is right next to the coffee bar room). The bathroom was super itty-bitty and the amenities were a bit outdated.

I enjoyed the little coffee machine they had, which was especially useful to load up on before my long trip to the Salton Sea.

The parking was less than desirable, and I made sure to park fairly close to my room/the office because I was a little afraid people off the street might be curious to "explore" the contents of my truck.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this for a business trip or a special occasion, but if you need a crash pad that has a great rate and is outdated but clean, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Cruz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Inn

Address: 3425 Market Street, Riverside, CA 92501
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Cruz Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Santa Cruz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Cruz Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.