We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Rude Staff - Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Riverside

Budget Inn Riverside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budget Inn Riverside to your Saves list
Budget Inn Riverside
1911 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Riverside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Rude Staff - Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I had a friend come to America, from Canada, for a visit. I would not suggest this place to anyone. Why? Let me explain the multiple situations that happened while she stayed there.

1 - They disconnected her phone while she was staying there, for no reason.

2 - Her child was injured back home and medical staff and family were trying to contact her during this time. The staff that answered kept telling the callers she wasn't in her room, when she actually was. The staff didn't even bother to check. Extremely bad considering this involved a child. Would you want to know when someone you loved was injured and then be sluffed off by staff who didn't care to even attempt to see if you're in your room?

3 - When she found out her phone was off, she went downstairs to the lady and the person there was to busy talking on their cell phone and kept waving at my friend in a 'shoo, go away' manner like she was an annoyance. How would a typical parent take such behavior?

4 - The staff's communication ability is super poor as one person told her she could stay an hour or two past her check out period. However this ended up not happening. Instead she had an old person knocking on her door and screaming, yes screaming, at her to get out... in Spanish. Apparently the hotel staff doesn't have many English speaking people there.

5 - They made her sit outside, in the sun, for several hours in 93+ degree weather. With all her luggage.

6 - As she was opening the drapes to her room she was hit in the eye with a screw. What did the staff do? Waved her away like an annoyance. Being my friend is from Canada she is unfamiliar with the hospitals here. The staff did not even give care.

Honestly, I cannot believe the sheer unprofessionalism and lack courtesy towards clients/guests. I was shocked by the behavior of the maids, the people at the front desk, and this overall experience.

As a human being I would strongly suggest avoiding this place unless you are into being treated worse than a dog.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I'm not to sure where the other people that reviewed before me stayed but it couldn't have been at the Budget Inn. They had people in and out of that motel all hours of the night; most of them were not even guest. We knew we were in a bad place when we saw a hooker getting arrested outside the motel. This part of University Ave was very ghetto and I would have rather stayed closer to the college. The rooms were very "cheap motel" and it really smelled like smoke in a non smoking room. I would never stay there again. This "amazing owner" was nowhere in sight, not even when I asked to talk to him about switching rooms. My colleague and I stayed at The Budget Inn because the Dynasty Suites down the street was sold out. Next time we will either book early with Dynasty Suites or pay a little extra and stay at the Marriott.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The location and the way we were treated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I stayed in the Budget Inn for a few nights during a conference at UC Riverside recently. I was looking for something a little cheaper than those the conference organisers recommended and the Budget in was PERFECT. Clean rooms, comfy beds, wifi and only 15 mins walk to campus.

The owner was super nice. He gave me a lift down to the station when I was leaving and wouldn't take a tip!

You would struggle to find better value in Riverside and you would struggle to find friendlier staff anywhere!!

  • Liked — Value and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

This motel offered us a clean and comfortable room, for a relatively cheap price. We were also very happy with the friendly and helpfull attitude of the owner. As this was our first visit to Riverside, and to the US in general, his advice and help made us feel welcome and helped us a lot in getting around the first days.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Riverside

Address: 1911 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guest, we are located near UCR1 mile from Riverside Convention Center/Downtown/Court House, 25+ restaurants within a mile, Movie theater .5 miles. We welcome PETS in limited rooms, please ask the front desk. FREE Wi-fi, Cable TV with 80+ channels, Refrigerator and Microwave available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Budget Inn Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.