We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service terrible rooms. Never going back!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Riverside

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Riverside to your Saves list
Budget Inn Riverside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Inn Riverside
1911 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Riverside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service terrible rooms. Never going back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

First off those who gave this hotel an excellant rating must have stayed at a different hotel or stayed at far worse hotels than this. This hotel is anything but excellent. I had a bad feeling upon checking in the staff is extremely rude and unprofessional. That was a big red flag I ignored. But what sent me out the door was the condition of the room. It smelled like mold, some electrical wiring was sticking out, the furniture is old and chipped a few had tagging in it. It's just deplorable. Do not ever consider staying here. Upon checking out (within an hour the smell was that bad) I told the receptionist why I was leaving so soon and he just shrugged it off and just said people cooked in there so that's where the smell came from.


It's just unbelievable! The lack of courtesy and professionalism. For godsake you are in the hospitality industry, your main goal is to make your guests feel comfortable and safe and to treat them with dignity and respect. Have some common sense, you are running a business.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Manager at Budget Inn Riverside, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I am so sorry that your stay was not comfortable. It is so important that our guests bring these type of concerns to my attention. Sometimes in our kitchennette suites people stay for months. Dear guest I am not sure what room you stayed in or on what day. Please be kind enough to give me a call so we can figure out exactly what happened.
thanks
Dan Budget Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Receptionist not friendly, helpful, or willing to extend common courtesies offered at many nearby hotels. No chance I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danjay, Manager at Budget Inn Riverside, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest we are very sorry to hear you are not coming back
were you upset beacause we wouldn't give you more time or ??
please call the manager
thanks
Budget Inn of Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside cal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed here with my fiance for one night and came back again the next simply because it has amazing rooms! clean roomy and very nice service for the price. I recommend you stay here if your in the area and are in a budget close to food and stores. =)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

buddet inn is a nice and clean budget place , the staff is very polite and want to make sure your stay is a very pleasant one. I have stayed at the budget fews days a week for a while, i have been treated very nice as a guest, my room is always clean and very comfortable, i would recommend this hotel. as a guest here I have always enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

My first stay at the Budget Inn in Riverside and I can say with assurance I will be back. There is a helpful and friendly staff, the rooms are ***clean*** and comfortable, and the price can't be beat! Far better than the Motel 6 I have stayed @ before for comparable pricing I felt I got far more at the Budget Inn . I stop along the road on occasion when I am traveling for work and have always preffered smaller chains to the big ones anyway.

The people, location and price make this for me, the BEST value in the Riverside area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I had a friend come to America, from Canada, for a visit. I would not suggest this place to anyone. Why? Let me explain the multiple situations that happened while she stayed there.

1 - They disconnected her phone while she was staying there, for no reason.

2 - Her child was injured back home and medical staff and family were trying to contact her during this time. The staff that answered kept telling the callers she wasn't in her room, when she actually was. The staff didn't even bother to check. Extremely bad considering this involved a child. Would you want to know when someone you loved was injured and then be sluffed off by staff who didn't care to even attempt to see if you're in your room?

3 - When she found out her phone was off, she went downstairs to the lady and the person there was to busy talking on their cell phone and kept waving at my friend in a 'shoo, go away' manner like she was an annoyance. How would a typical parent take such behavior?

4 - The staff's communication ability is super poor as one person told her she could stay an hour or two past her check out period. However this ended up not happening. Instead she had an old person knocking on her door and screaming, yes screaming, at her to get out... in Spanish. Apparently the hotel staff doesn't have many English speaking people there.

5 - They made her sit outside, in the sun, for several hours in 93+ degree weather. With all her luggage.

6 - As she was opening the drapes to her room she was hit in the eye with a screw. What did the staff do? Waved her away like an annoyance. Being my friend is from Canada she is unfamiliar with the hospitals here. The staff did not even give care.

Honestly, I cannot believe the sheer unprofessionalism and lack courtesy towards clients/guests. I was shocked by the behavior of the maids, the people at the front desk, and this overall experience.

As a human being I would strongly suggest avoiding this place unless you are into being treated worse than a dog.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I'm not to sure where the other people that reviewed before me stayed but it couldn't have been at the Budget Inn. They had people in and out of that motel all hours of the night; most of them were not even guest. We knew we were in a bad place when we saw a hooker getting arrested outside the motel. This part of University Ave was very ghetto and I would have rather stayed closer to the college. The rooms were very "cheap motel" and it really smelled like smoke in a non smoking room. I would never stay there again. This "amazing owner" was nowhere in sight, not even when I asked to talk to him about switching rooms. My colleague and I stayed at The Budget Inn because the Dynasty Suites down the street was sold out. Next time we will either book early with Dynasty Suites or pay a little extra and stay at the Marriott.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The location and the way we were treated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Inn Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Riverside

Address: 1911 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guest, we are located near UCR1 mile from Riverside Convention Center/Downtown/Court House, 25+ restaurants within a mile, Movie theater .5 miles. We welcome PETS in limited rooms, please ask the front desk. FREE Wi-fi, Cable TV with 80+ channels, Refrigerator and Microwave available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.