We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Campanas

Las Campanas
3649 Mission Inn Ave. (Orange St.), Mission Inn, Riverside, CA 92501
909 784 0300
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Campanas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 638 Restaurants in Riverside
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Inn Avenue/Orange Street
Description: Authentic Mexican Cuisine served in a beautiful outdoor garden setting come taste the excitement of Las Campanas Mexican Cuisine & Cantina! Offering authentic Mexican cuisine creatively prepared using the freshest herbs and ingredients. Relax in our beautifully landscaped outdoor garden and enjoy our signature margaritas.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This restaurant is part of the Mission Inn. The prices were reasonable and the food good. There is outdoor seating with plenty of shade. All in all, a delightful dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    65
    19
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Came for lunch on a saturday afternoon. Elsa was our server and took our food and drink order. Food was good and portions were large. I ordered a red sangria and hubby ordered a margarita on the rocks. When the drinks arrived she brought me a white sangria. Things weren't looking good but Elsa turned it around quickly. Food came out quickly and my corrected drink order came as well. When sun started to come through the patio where we were sitting Elsa quickly placed an umbrella to shade us. Chips and salsa were good. Little pricey but food was good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mexican cuisine, very good overall, tableside guac was delish. Outdoor garden setting is beautiful, in the evening the lighting is mainly from artfully placed strings of tiny white lights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“slow service, cold food, overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were excited to have dinner at the lovely Mission Inn. We chose Las Campanas based on the atmosphere--twinkly lights on the patio, palm trees, etc. Romantic.

After bringing our drinks (the big margarita is BIG, by the way), our waiter asked if we were ready to order. We weren't. So he left...and didn't come back for about 30 minutes. And when we finally got our meal, the food was cold. Would have told the waiter, but he again disappeared for a long time.

I'd go there for drinks and maybe an appetizer, but I wouldn't return for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as special as I thought”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lots of good reviews here but our experience was not as favorable. The atmosphere is super nice, plus it was a beautiful Thursday evening for us anyway. All the tables I saw were patio seating, I don't know if there was any other. Really nice. Service was very slow, our feeling was our server was just spread a little too thin. But that was still ok.
It was really the food that was just plain and not even that good. There were four of us and one got the fajitas which were pipping hot, but the other three plates we all remarked seemed like they had been sitting for awhile. We each had a different meal and none of us thought our dinner was worth the higher price you pay at a place like this. Even a run of the mill chain served tastier fair.
So no, we would not go to this restaurant again. It is located at the Mission Inn, so maybe we'll get dressed up and try one of the other places there. Just to give the Inn one more try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Campanas also viewed

 

Been to Las Campanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Campanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.