We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Monza, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would go back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good rates, friendly staff, clean and spacious room. The position is not the best in town, but you have to take your car anyway and there's no need to walk around (there are no attractions nearby). Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    6
    0
    6
See reviews for
10
12
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I got Room No. 110. Every minute there was air pressure or bathroom plumbing pressure was making 10-15 seconds. That was on going every minute. I could not sleep at all. When I noticed the noise at first I thought it was happening when other people were using bathrooms but it was an ongoing all night and day event every minute. I even recorded to confirm how often it was happening. It is every minute for 10-15 seconds noise like tuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh... tuuuuuuuuuuuuuh. I told the lady on the front office in the morning and she said she would talk to the manager and took my phone number but no call or nothing. DO NOT WASTE YOUR NIGHT IN THIS LODGE. IT WILL DRIVE YOU NUTS. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF I SLEPT IN THE CAR. WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IN LIFE.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend. I actually live in the area but no air conditioning at the home and my family and I need to get some A/C. Thought this place was a good idea, good price for 80.00 for one night. My husband had reserved a room with a king bed but was told it was not available anymore and had to get double beds??? We get there room inside is tidy and cleaned, except the fact the furniture was ratted and the armoire's bottom shelf was broken. First thing my husband does is turn on the A/C unit. It works but only on one side, and the piece on top of the A/C, that angles the air flow, was broken plus the air was cool, not cold. Secondly, the shower. My husband and I could not get the shower on, because the attachment to the shower from the handle, was broken off the wall. We were trying to push it in the wall to see if would hook on something so the water can go from the tub to shower...but no success...had to resort to a BATH :/ Turned the water on and waited forever for the hot water to come, but never did. We had the handle all the way turned to hot but it was only warm, if that. Every time I used the toilet the toilet seat would jiggle around. Finally after going for the 4th time the seat popped right off the toilet, to the ground.

To top it off, we brought our bathing suits to swim but was told by the front desk that no one is allowed to go over there, that they had no "handicap" signs up something. So pool was off limits. They've had the pool for how long, and they have no signs??? i figured it was crap they were telling us and the pool was not clean. How can they not keep it up to standards, especially during the summer...

Thunderbird Lodge is nice to see on the outside but its just a whole front. Beware of a deal that is too good to be true. Most of the time you get screwed over on something or a few things.

Room Tip: Get a top floor, people in this area area up all night and like to stomp around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

stayed here for a dance competition at the convention center my girls were in. Room was clean but a little small for 4 people. Bed was comfy. WiFi never did work the two nights we stayed. Could not understand the shower. Had to fool with it for a while to get it to turn off. Not enough plugs for phones, hair dryers, etc. Price was right for the amount of time we were in the room.

Room Tip: bottom floors are noisy if someone is in the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Thunderbird Lodge four times and have had only great experiences. I believe the place was renovated shortly before I began staying here and it was done very tastefully. The staff is friendly and always remembers who I am (even though there are six month gaps between my stays). Great location near downtown, not far from the university, and is usually pretty inexpensive!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel had excellent customer service. Mattress was awsome, I usually complain because of a bad back, but not this time. Very close to downtown but not a good neighborhood to be walking around. Wifi was slow, but the manager made sure I was able to do what I needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Well I stayed at the thunderbird lodge in riverside for their good reviews and great advertisement . I was going to be in town for a few days so I just decited to give it a try. Everything was great clean rooms, comfy bed nothing to complain,... -the Negative side when we arrived I had asked for a non smoking room because I'm truly disgusted with the smell and allergic to it. It turned to be that the Deskclerk was clearly a smoker "she smelled from head to toe like cigarettes " yuck! Even tho I was given a non smoking room It turned to be worse. clerk walked around the lodge smoking another cigarette, great now I have to deal with the smell outside my room. i don't understand why in working hours she would do such thing! only in california im guessing. can things get any worse? Yes .later on that night I stepped out my room to get some ice and I seen the same clerk talking to a guest comfirming on a date!? I was truly shocked to witness such thing. Although clerk was nice when we checked in what kind of prefessionalism is that? I will never allow my husband or family stay at this place again. I know most of it all is non of my business but I just think everything about my stayed was wrong! I will not be returning to this place again. Ill recomend people that If you need somewhere to stay, to keep on driving theirs plainty of vacancy with professional staff around the area.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation Award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. Located in the heart of Riverside with restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Come see one of the best value for your money in Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.