We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable. Only issue was room not dark. Best bed around.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Benson, AZ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very comfortable. Only issue was room not dark. Best bed around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in king size bed. Room was large and comfortable. Bed was extraordinary comfortable. Room was not dark at all. Pillows not comfortable. No coffee or breakfast. No tissues in room. Old style 19 inch tv. Service wasn*t good - couldn't get a reciept.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
9
12
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our experience was generally positive during our one-night stay with one major disadvantage. The hotel was easy to find with a colorful neon sign. There is a liquor store across the street and a McDonald's within walking distance but not much else nearby. Parking is within the perimeter of the rooms, so it was easy to keep an eye on your car. It was a little chilly the night we arrived (February). The heat worked well but blew the curtain about until we used the supplied iron to pin the curtain against the window. The shower was nice and the towels were thick. There was shampoo and body lotion but no tissues. The television and coffee maker worked well. Usually hotels offer a continental breakfast but the Thunderbird did not. Perhaps no breakfast is customary in this part of California. There was a small pool and hot tub which we did not use. The wifi worked better with my phone than does my home wifi. The major annoyance was that our key cards didn't work in our room. We either had to let each other in or be let in by staff (staff's key worked fine). I was able to enter once using the key card through vigorous rubbing in the lock. When the manager was made aware of the problem, he offered us a room on the second floor (this room was on the ground floor) but since there were two of us and we were only staying one night it was not a big problem for us, so we put up with it. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location earlier this year on Easter weekend for an event at the NOS center. Upon coming in its a nice calm location, we arrived rather early so that we can look around. The Lobby was clean and seemed new. The man at the check-in desk was friendly and got us the room we wanted, on the second floor. The carpet was clean and had a working AC , bonus points. No water bugs found, no roaches, and no bed bugs. Which totally made me fall in love because i am terrified of all three. The bed was pretty comfy and the sheets were clean and soft. There were hangers,a hanging rack, an iron, and a mini fridge available. Everything went great they even didn't mind that we checked out an hour later than planned, no fee was added, nor were we scolded for it.
Only down sides was that there were no matts in the restroom to keep you from falling on your way out of the shower, and the shower only had a cloth curtain and no plastic gaurd to keep the water from drenching the curtain as well as soaking the floor. If we would have had extra towels, I wouldnt have minded, but we didn't want to ask for extra towels so late at night (I would suggest you ask for them on your way in). Also the fridge was not on,nor did I see anywhere to plug it into (we didn't bother letting them know), we didn't use it either way. The tv made the worst noise when turned on but in a way it was nice to spend quiet time with my boyfriend haha so it was a good thing for us.
The lodge is also close to a liquor store, couple restaurants, and a Mc Donald's; we didn't entirely starve during on of our 1am craving kicks.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We tried to stay there this past weekend, when we got ready for bed my son asked what the bug was on his bed. It was a bed bug and underneath the matteress more bugs! Plus the pillows were dirty and stained. We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

On our little road trip, our next stop was the Mission Inn area of Riverside. We like to walk the area and then hit some Route 66 locations. We read the T Lodge had be renovated and was a great price. It is very nice. But it needs some fine tuning. There are only canned lights in the ceiling. If we wanted to turn a light on at night we had to light up the whole room (and not very well for reading). They could use sconces or table lights by the beds or on the desk. Also, there is no outlet near the sink. The closest one is way over the microwave and fridge...which is where the dinky coffee maker was. There is no coffee in the lobby so we tried to make our own. The pot is over 5 feet up so I couldn't see to add water or put the coffee pouch in. Simple, we moved it over to the desk area. Nice clean beds, but we could hear the guy in the next room talking real loud on his phone. Doesn't he know you don't have to yell into your phone anymore!
Nice quick trip to the Mission Inn at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

For the price I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. It has obviously been remodeled to compete with other low budget hotel. The shower water was cold..at least until I figured out that hot was cold and cold was hot :/ lol. The pool is horrendous. When I asked about it I was told that the pool was closed. By the looks of it I sure as hell hoped so. The girl at the front desk wasn't the brightest bulb on the tree. When I asked her if she'd honor their Expedia rate, she said what do you mean? When I asked her if that were a incorporated she responded with the same question..what do you mean? Nevertheless the rooms were nice for the price; and it's close to downtown. Beware of riffraff loitering in the parking lot ;)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation Award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. Located in the heart of Riverside with restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Come see one of the best value for your money in Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.