We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A good start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

On our little road trip, our next stop was the Mission Inn area of Riverside. We like to walk the area and then hit some Route 66 locations. We read the T Lodge had be renovated and was a great price. It is very nice. But it needs some fine tuning. There are only canned lights in the ceiling. If we wanted to turn a light on at night we had to light up the whole room (and not very well for reading). They could use sconces or table lights by the beds or on the desk. Also, there is no outlet near the sink. The closest one is way over the microwave and fridge...which is where the dinky coffee maker was. There is no coffee in the lobby so we tried to make our own. The pot is over 5 feet up so I couldn't see to add water or put the coffee pouch in. Simple, we moved it over to the desk area. Nice clean beds, but we could hear the guy in the next room talking real loud on his phone. Doesn't he know you don't have to yell into your phone anymore!
Nice quick trip to the Mission Inn at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
11
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southbay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

For the price I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. It has obviously been remodeled to compete with other low budget hotel. The shower water was cold..at least until I figured out that hot was cold and cold was hot :/ lol. The pool is horrendous. When I asked about it I was told that the pool was closed. By the looks of it I sure as hell hoped so. The girl at the front desk wasn't the brightest bulb on the tree. When I asked her if she'd honor their Expedia rate, she said what do you mean? When I asked her if that were a incorporated she responded with the same question..what do you mean? Nevertheless the rooms were nice for the price; and it's close to downtown. Beware of riffraff loitering in the parking lot ;)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The exterior doesn’t show much, but the inside… WOAH! Thunderbird Lodge is one of the cleanest, comfy, and friendly hotels. EVER!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Large updated, comfortable room with mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our toilet kept running and the satalite TV kept going out but as soon as we brought it to the manager's attention it was taken care of. The pool was scummy and full of leaves - we were dissapointed there was no swimming. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. If you are looking for a clean room at a good price stay here, just check to see if the pool is available before booking the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here to see the RIverside Festival of Lights in early December and was charmed, was the perfect place to stay, close location to downtown and was blown away by appearance of hotel. Original Structure and neon sign from 50 years ago, but totally modern and kept up. Rooms have all been redone, and are very beautiful inside and out and extremely clean. Great pricing for what you get. Would love to stay again, highly recommend to anyone needing to stay in the area. Bed was extremely comfortable and got great nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We couldn't be happier with this hotel! Our room was immaculate, the price was right, the bed was super comfortable and we could swear the rooms was sound proof! When we first arrived, there were only 4 cars in the parking lot. When we woke up...the parking lot was full and we didn't hear a thing!! My hubby is a light sleeper and usually hears everything....not here! The rooms are really quiet. One last thing...the staff (Jeanette)was very friendly and accommodating! All in all....a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Excellent value for a reasonable price. Rooms are clean and well kept. This is the 3rd time we have stayed while visiting friends in Riverside and we will stay here every time we come

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 2711 University Ave., Riverside, CA 92507
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation Award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. Located in the heart of Riverside with restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Come see one of the best value for your money in Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.