We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Varieties along the way, but Don't expect a lot of Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens

University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens
900 University Ave., Riverside, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 Attractions in Riverside
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Different Varieties along the way, but Don't expect a lot of Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're "into" plants, this is a great walk. Up some hills and down.
If you're thinking Monticello or Huntington in Pasadena, you're going to be let down. Not that's it not a great walk and interesting, but it's not set against some stunning backdrop except the small "mountains" that surround Riverside.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Take a camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We live nearby so we enjoy stopping by a time or two a year. This is a hidden gem. Plenty of parking, price is a donation, and you can spend the day just taking pictures and reading about the vast variety of plant life. We even got a glimpse of some wild life. If you are local and haven’t been, I highly recommend it, and the exercise is free also.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kinda rustic-great hikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Such a beautiful garden, that many people don't know about. It's very hilly, but my 3 year old and I hiked all around it (with me only carrying her part of the way). We enjoyed stopping at the many benches along the way and watching the wildlife.

People also like to use this areas to take family portraits (I saw a poor photographer lugging all his equipment up some of the hills), meditate, or even for religious studies.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“had a great time,the weather was nice, we all got to ride all the rides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

the people were great,had a great time, enjoyed the whole day wish i could have stayed another day to go back, good price for all the activates

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Nice relaxing stroll through this Garden. Went there my first time in 1989 when I moved to Riverside.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.