We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems risky” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Riverside East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Riverside East to your Saves list
Motel 6 Riverside East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1260 University Avenue, I-215/SR 60/Pomona Freeway at University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Lyon, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seems risky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I used to study at University of California Riverside - so I know pretty well the area.
I decided to pay a visit to some teachers of mine and stayed at the motel 6 by the University Village. The location is great, since it is walking distance form commerce & from the university. However, this motel 6 is in pretty bad shape (smell, really). I knew this motel 6 was reputed as risky - but I'm pretty used to traveling alone in "not-that-classy" places. However, it did seem risky and I didn't feel safe (which clearly means it wasn't) : strange people all the time, "guest" policy insisting on the risks in staying at this hotel, reminders not to come back too late and to lock the door, and so on.
And noisy.
In my opinion, you can find a better place on univ. ave, maybe a bit more expansive, but quieter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
1
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
riverside california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here twice in one month. First time I stayed in room 203 and they woke me up with construction in the next room. I asked the old lady in the front office to make sure I got a room that would allow me to sleep in and guess what. the room right next door was being worked on. Didn't get my sleep that I needed. Plus they say they have all these channels on the tv and they are not available. And don't even think about using the HDMI on the TV. They have it locked so you cant hook up a laptop. very selfish if you ask me. Second time I stayed there in room 221 and I did get my sleep but they rushed me out. Housekeeping at 10am..pretty silly to me.

Room Tip: stay at the Dynasty inn around the corner on Iowa. Same price and the rooms are twice as nice. Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had just left a hotel in another city ... so it was nice to go some where,, where they wree freindly, this was the 2nd time we stayed in this hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great place, front desk was friendly. Plenty of places to eat all around and very close to freeway. Had a fridge and microwave and the tv had plenty of channels. Had no problems there what so ever. Front desk was even helpfully about giving me directions to the venue I was going to the night I checked in. I would use this Motel 6 again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a good Motel 6 like any other Motel 6.
Its location is very good, especially if you are in UC Riverside.
One of our rooms (room 124) was a non-smoking room and had a very bad smell of cigarette smoke. That is not the fault of the hotel, but of the client that smoked in the room a few days before. We complained about the smell and we were told that it is not too bad (without even leaving their office). They didn't even look surprised or apologized.

Room Tip: Do not go to room 124
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Regardless of location. The staff was always top notch here. If you can stand a cheap motel and a so so neighborhood. Then live it up here. LOL

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

It's a decent place. Kind of high traffic and not in the best neighborhood, but they try to keep it clean and such. I would suggest a room on the front side in the summer (the back side gets the afternoon sun), and on the back if you're a light sleeper (due to the traffic noise).

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — High Traffic, lack of pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Riverside East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Riverside East

Address: 1260 University Avenue, I-215/SR 60/Pomona Freeway at University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Riverside East 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Riverside East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Riverside East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.