We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, I still think about the meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bann Thai

Bann Thai
6461 Brockton Ave, Riverside, CA
951-684-3381
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 620 Restaurants in Riverside
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coronado, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow, I still think about the meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my first time to this place. The four of us ordered different dishes to share and they were all good. Even the vegetarian in the group separated the beef/chicken/fish from the dishes to enjoy the noodles and vegetables. Great service, good food, and happy customers all around us. I am looking forward to my next visit there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD TAI FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bann Tai is located in an old home converted to a restaurant. The menu is very large and has a variety of special dishes and combinations. The food is excellent and the service is very good. Very tasty and not over filling.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pineapple fried rice (with Shimps)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a family owner restaurant, they are very kind with customers, but the best is when you get your order: the food is so yummi. I love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Automatic tip, really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've been eating at Bann Thai for the past few years and have liked it but their new policy of automatically including a tip for everything is crazy! I know many places who do this for large parties but for two people? Really? Seriously? Why should a server provide good service when all diners are forced to leave a tip anyway?? Looks like it's back to Table For Two or Gra Pow for a change of pace and to avoid the extra fee. It's not like people wouldn't leave a tip anyway for good service so why the need to make everyone leave a tip? Seems kind of obnoxious and tacky.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try this Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in Riverside for a funeral, and wanted to eat something other than the fast food offerings my relatives kept putting in front of me. I was yearning for some Thai or Vietnamese food, and I found Bann Thai with my Tripadvisor app. The online menu looked appealing so we gave it a try.

It was great! My wife and I stopped in for lunch and took advantage of their lunch specials. My wife had the pad thai (one of the better ones I've tasted anywhere), and I had garlic pepper pork, to which they added an abundance of chili at my request.

Our $6.95 lunch specials came with a delicious salad, a potsticker, and a battered potato wedge. Our egg roll appetizer was light, crisp, and tasted house-made.

The restaurant is in a converted old house, and has a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.

There is an automatic 15% gratuity on the check for 1-6 people, and 18% for 7 or more. Other reviewers were bothered by this, but we had excellent service, and didn't mind at all.

If I lived in Riverside, I would put Bann Thai into my regular restaurant rotation. I'll definitely return when in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bann Thai also viewed

 

Been to Bann Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bann Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.