We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfied Guest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unsatisfied Guest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 7/30 through 8/01 and we are very dissatisfied with our stay. Check in was great, Staff was very friendly and kind. They provided us with a clean guest room with a balcony. Upon entering the room we noticed there was a wasp on the ceiling so we opened the balcony to let it out but it remained in our room through our stay. We did not inform the front desk of this minor inconvenience. We had originally booked for one night but decided to extend our stay and booked a second night the following morning. After we extended our stay we left the room to run some errands which gave housekeeping more than enough time to clean the room. When we returned to our room we noticed the room had been cleaned but our bed was not made, our champagne glasses were removed and not replaced with new ones, our towels were also removed and not replaced with clean ones leaving us with no towels at all. My partner called the front desk and informed them of these inconveniences and she was told housekeeping would be sent immediately to redo the room. We waited about 30-40 minutes and housekeeping never came. We called the front desk again and were told the same thing. We then decided to cool off at the pool and give the housekeeper her space to clean the room. We returned to our room a while after and noticed our room had not been redone so again we called front desk and we were told housekeeping would be sent immediately. We went back to the pool and finally returned to a clean room. Later on that night I had to call the front desk and have my in room safe reset because it had locked as if someone had attempted to open the safe and failed to put the correct pin. Hotel staff did come immediately and resolved this issue. The following morning before check out I noticed my partner and I had a lot of bite marks. I specifically had the marks on my neck, arms, and forehead. They appeared to be bed bug bites. I emailed the general manager of the hotel to discuss these issues and never received a response from her. It's a nice hotel over all and staff is very friendly but they need to work on these issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    187
    47
    43
    49
See reviews for
154
263
39
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

They are a bit pricey but took my military ID and gave me a great price!!! So friendly and just a pleasure to walk through the property! Had breakfast outside with a gorgeous view of the courtyard. Looking forward to staying in November.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I got married here ten years ago so we decided to relive the magic for our anniversary. Needless to say the moment we walked onto the grounds we were once again in total awe of the beauty of the hotel. The staff were all incredibly kind & our room was gorgeous! Now I'm going to a bit nit picky here...the mattress was really uncomfortable BUT I do have a tendency to be a snob when it comes to this. We had dinner at the steakhouse which was good. We also really enjoyed the pool. More than anything make sure you walk around the grounds as there is a lot of history to the place & so much to see!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Mission Inn is a fascinating historical and architectural Hotel. Wander the hallways and different levels to get the full ambiance. Because many areas of the hotel are unique, many of the rooms are not the same. I have stayed there approximately 20 times and often get a surprising new room lay out. The Presidential Bar commemorates the ten U.S. Presidents who have been to the Inn. They often have week-end jazz. They also have a nice wine bar with a great selection of wines, with opened wines being preserved and dispensed in a state-of the-art manner. Three restaurants are available with a great steak house if one is in the mood for excellent, if not pricey, steaks. (Yes, I do eat something besides fish and seafood.) They also have an outdoor Mexican restaurant with large margaritas and tableside-prepared guacamole, which is delicious. I have also eaten at their courtyard Mission Inn Restaurant which offers a buffet (which I seldom try) but with a nice selection of food with a great view of the internal courtyard of the hotel. There are also other good restaurant within a short walking distance. Staff are always helpful, pleasant, and professional. Parking is a ways away so whether self-parking or valet-parking, factor that into your schedule. Depending on availability, I am often able to get a business rate when I am there for work.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms situated near the two main streets to avoid sirens at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Five English teachers from central Minnesota traveled to Riverside to attend a five day conference at U.C.R.. We booked rooms here, and, what a treat. Our only regret was that we were gone every day for eight hours. The service was supreme. Everyone from the valet staff, restaurant staff, front desk, to the fitness room staff, was friendly and accommodating. At the end of each day, we enjoyed pool time and a great meal. The atmosphere at the Mission Inn is very relaxing and there are all kinds of quiet spots to think, read, or sip coffee in the mornings. This was the best choice we could have made!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I found this hotel while reviewing my book on Historic Hotels of America. I was attending a wedding and made a special trip to stat at this incredible inn. I was amazed that when I spoke to people all over California so few actually new about this landmark.

If you want a destination that has it all this is the place no doubt! I did have some minor issues with my room so make sure you know what type of room you are getting. I preferred the older rooms with more character. I you want a room that will truly wow you go for a mission room. I would like to thank the front desk staff including Ashley, Ingrid and Brayton. They helped me stay in some terrific rooms

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The trip started off well with an upgrade to our room. Overlooking the pool, it was wonderful. The architecture was beautiful, the flowers, the history of the hotel was impressive. Room service was delicious but pricey. I chose this hotel for the ambience and romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.