We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the only reason ever to go to Riverside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Riverside
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Maybe the only reason ever to go to Riverside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me first start by saying that I am not usually in the habit of rating anything as "Excellent".
The Mission Inn however thoroughly deserves it.
The staff were all fantastic, the pool was relaxing, the room was clean and comfortable and the architecture was amazing.
Their are a lot of restaurants close by so you do not necessarily have to dine at the hotel. We tried the Mexican restaurant which although visually stunning was just ok as far as the menu was concerned. Our server was very friendly and their signature addition was that they make the guacamole fresh and at your table.
Parking is available for a flat fee of $12 for 24 hours.
This really is a hotel that has to be experienced though as the place is beautiful. We celebrated my wifes #%th birthday there so she took ful advantage of the spa while i ordered frozen drinks pool side. After an exausting day of pampering, eating, drinking and antiqueing we slep well in maybe the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever rested my head in.
Great place and great staff equal a fantastic time.

Room Tip: They do have a lot of functions especially weddings so if staying on the weekend try to room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    158
    39
    40
    42
See reviews for
135
228
34
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is a historical hotel. It was fun to roam the hallways and stairways, and appreciate the architecture. It almost felt like I was in Europe storming the castles.

We stayed in a junior suite that is made up of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. The room includes two queen beds, sofa bed, two TVs and checker game table. We had a view of the front entrance and a partial view of the pool. Wifi worked fine. We went to the pool late in the day when the weather was cooler, lounge chairs were available, and less crowded.

The spa area gave off a eucalyptus scent that smelled great. We enjoyed the cupcakes at Casey's Cupcakes.

While walking around the hotel on the public street, we saw a couple homeless people. The hotel security made sure they weren't bothering anyone. The area has restaurants, antique shops and bookstores. We didn't wander off too far since it was hot and humid that day.

For lunch, we ate at Proabition on Main Street near the hotel. Good food at a reasonable price. We ate at Las Campanas for dinner. The food was okay and overpriced, but it was nice to eat outdoors on the patio.

The check-in/out line was long. A sign should be posted to indicate where line forms. A few clueless people just went up to the counter bypassing the long line. I guess no matter what what you do, they'll always be clueless. Anyhoo, only two people were working the counter and clearly should have at least one more person.

We would return again but when the weather is cooler. It would make exploring the hotel more bearable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is THE place to stay in Riverside, CA - but the staff doesn't ever act like it. Everyone seems pleased to see you and there is always service far beyond what you would expect in a hotel this busy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a wonderful collection of pieces of art and the old mansion is spectacularly kept. The Service is excellent too.Totally worthy if you stop by Riverside! Don't miss the Mexican restaurant and the breakfast in the patio! The amenities in the too are straight from the SPA: another nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have probably stayed at the Mission Inn on at least a half a dozen occasions and we're never disappointed. In fact, it has become a tradition to stay there in August to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed there most recently on the weekend of August 23-25 and were again very pleased. The one goof we made was staying on the second floor of the "west wing" of the hotel, which is below an exposed walk way outside of the rooms on the third floor, which is where we usually stay. This resulted in hearing the rumble of the food and maid carts as they made their way up and down the rooms on the third floor. Even that was a minor irritation usually only in the morning hours while we were still in the room. The surrounding area has continued to improve, with a pedestrian mall just outside the hotel to the west containing numerous stores and restaurants, if you don't care to eat in the hotel. There's also the Fox Performing Arts Theater two blocks away, which offers a variety of entertainment in a classic Mission-Style décor movie theater built in 1929! We always have opted to eat at the hotel, primarily in the courtyard restaurant, where you can watch the figures in the outdoor gallery clock rotate around as the hour passes. Both nights we ultimately opted to eat at the buffet for a very reasonable $35 per person, which on Friday night offers shell fish and a variety of other fish and on Saturday offered prime rib and other entrees. The service in the restaurant is both courteous and attentive. We weren't able to stay for the elaborate Sunday brunch buffet due to our schedule, but we've partaken of it on may other occasions and can unhesitatingly recommend it. The Mission Inn is a true treasure of Southern California and just the destination for a special weekend for two or for the whole family. It's refined in the "old school" way and you're not going to have to endure a raucous atmosphere which tries to appeal to the younger generation. It's also very reasonably priced by today's standards and there are always special packages available including free valet parking, gift certificates, etc. So, check those specials out!

Room Tip: If staying in the west wing, choose a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were first blown away by the pictures of the Mission Inn Hotel and Spa which we found by accident looking for a hotel close to Lake Arrowhead. It looked like a magical European style castle. Since our plans fell through over Labor Day weekend, we booked the hotel last minute and we were very glad that we did.

The Good:
1. Beautiful architecture and very peaceful
2. The hotel has 4 restaurants with different cuisines and a restaurant with a beautiful patio
3. Close to Lake Arrowhead - just a 45 minute drive away

The Bad:
1. We really loved this hotel but we did get some flea bites the first night we were there
2. The walls are VERY thin. We were woken in the middle of the night by the guest next door who was very sick next door, coughing and blowing his nose. Almost felt like he was in our room since we could clearly hear him and the television in the middle of the night.
3. Outside of the hotel, we didn't feel very safe as there were lots of homeless people. You really need stay inside the hotel during the weekend and not wander outside.

Tips:
1. Please request a room that does not face the pool as it can get loud and away from the street since there is a late night club that plays music until 2 a.m.
2. On Sundays, the only breakfast options are very limited and the hotel offers Champagne Brunch at $42. Good to know if you are with a large party that does not necessarily want to pay for Champagne Brunch at that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a beauty.. breathtaking views.. makes for excellent pictures. The staff is very friendly and accommodating! My husband and I spent the weekend here for our 2 year anniversary. Everything is literally right around the corner, great restaurants, music, cupcakes.
However the neighborhood a block down from the hotel is a bit sketchy so be careful( we ventured out to find a CVS). The hotel does have some very modern amenities .. however the power went out in our room when we turned on the iron ( while watching TV) oh well I suppose the hotel is pretty old. The good thing was that they fixed he issue right away. The prices at each of the restaurants are on the high side as well as the charge for parking $15 p/day. Although we loved our stay this was one of those that you visit once.. maybe because we stayed on the first floor and the noise level was a bit high for a light sleeper like myself.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper dont stay on the first floor you hear all the commotion if people comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riverside
#3 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.