We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and luxurious piece of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and luxurious piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What an amazing and well-preserved hotel in the heart of downtown Riverside. So much history has passed through here that it is well worth a visit, whether you spend the night or not. Presidents, movie stars, and celebrities of all type have graced this beautiful hotel and for good reason. The architecture is stunning and so well-preserved. So many nooks and crannies, stairways and hallways all begging to be explored. This labyrinth puts me in mind of the Winchester House in San Jose, but in a good way! The bell collection is fascinating and well worth a walk around to see everything.

The room was large and nicely appointed, if a tad sparse. A/C was quiet and very efficient and a dormer with windows that actually opened to let in the fresh air was a nice touch that was obviously original construction. The preservation of the historical aspects of the entire hotel and guest rooms is to be commended in this day and age of "tear out and replace."

Parking was reasonable and included unlimited in and out. One has a choice of self or valet, which is also nice to be given the option. WiFi is not complimentary, nor is additional coffee in the rooms. Not a deal-breaker, but seemed a bit "nickel and dime" petty.

My only regret is that I was not able to be there over Sunday to experience the fabulous brunch! Another time, perhaps. Overall, a fabulous experience and well worth the costs incurred. This is a great spot for a special occasion getaway.

Room Tip: Spring for the slightly more expensive upper floors. The rooms are larger and provide a much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    187
    47
    43
    49
See reviews for
154
263
39
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here with the family for just over $100/night for two separate weekends this summer and had an amazing time. The hotel is historic with great artwork, restaurants and close to everything downtown. The rooms are very comfortable and have been updated to luxury standards.

We had a handicap accessible room which was HUGE, with a large bathroom - which I would recommend. The pool is very nice with food and drinks to match. The President's Lounge is a great bar and they had a nightly live guitar player/singer.

Overall awesome time, good food, close to all family friendly and tons of weddings for plenty of action.

Room Tip: Choose an accessible room if available - you can hardly tell the difference and it is twice the size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

just a wonderful Hotel!! So much history and things to look at or exployer.. Our 4th visit had the poolside package and upgraded the room to higher floor king bed. Beautiful room with outside balcony (way too hot in the day but fun at night). Never will you stay at a hotel where the hotel is the focus and roaming around and discovering things is the reason for the stay. You would never do that at many other hotels.. We roamed the hallways and stairs and patios for hours just taking in the architecture and antiques and the history of the place. The special ways the doors are hinged, or arches and nooks are so great.. Just love this hotel.. Checkin was ummm not quick 3 desk clerks 2 with their heads down not looking up at all. I was waiting with 3 other customers for the only person checking folks in. One of the other 2 looked up briefly and sayed we would be right with you.. that was after 5 min waiting.. Finally they opened up the 2nd check in spot and were good to go.. all things considered it was a nice stay..

Room Tip: big antique store across the street it is a wonder to exployer.. always look for ways to upgrade the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Two friends and I visited the Mission Inn Spa for massages, but we got so much more. Upon stepping in to this beautiful facility, you feel transported to a Tuscan villa. The staff shows you to the changing area and lockers, then ushers you into a comfortable lounge where you are served a healthful beverage while you wait. My massage therapist showed me to a beautiful suite where she gave me a superb upper back massage. Quiet music heightened my relaxation. After our massages, my friends and I sat out by the Mission Inn's pool and were served more beverages. From there, we retired to the showers, fully stocked with body wash, shampoo, conditioner and lotions. A dressing area is stocked with blow dryers, large mirror, tissues and other necessities. Upon leaving, I felt more relaxed than I had in years. I will definitely return to the Mission Inn Spa whenever in Riverside.
BTW, I used to live in an apartment in the Mission Inn back in the late 70s. I'm so happy to see how beautifully the Inn has been restored and developed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Absolutely luscious hotel experience. We stayed two nights. One MUST experience this property at night. One friend had stayed there before, so he took us on a personal tour on the 4th floor where you can see the hotel lit up at night, absolutely breathtaking. There are 5 restaurants, all excellent. Live music in the evening to enjoy. The pool area is very lovely and was enjoyed by all of us. Service is excellent. For such a great hotel, our room rate was very reasonable. We want to go back soon. Oh, by the way, we live only an hour away from Riverside, but this hotel made us feel as though we were in a Mediterranean venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading such great reviews we decided to visit. We arrived late in the evening, tired from a long flight and were put in a room that was poorly ventilated and had a distinct musky odor. We asked to have a room change but were told that the hotel was fully booked but to try in the morning. The next morning we were upgraded to a room on the 4 th floor but it too had poor ventilation however at least it wasn't smelly! If you should visit, ask for the rooms on the 4th floor floor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This property is so beautiful. We live close enough that we can get away a couple times of the year. The holiday lights are not to be missed! One of the best Sunday brunches you'll ever enjoy. Wonder around the grounds and then take a stroll to all of the fun quirky shops next door. Enjoy a cupcake at Casey's cupcakes and people watch.

Room Tip: A room inside facing the entrance is amazing during the holidays. Almost lie being inside a Christma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.