We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay at a Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay at a Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I found out about the Mission Inn through the Historic Hotels of America website, and I'm glad I did. My wife and I stayed here for one night for our 12 th anniversarry and it was a great experience from the room to the restaurant. We stayed in a mission room which is on the 4th floor of the north-west wing. The mission rooms are DEFINITELY worth the small increased cost. Large, secluded rooms with small balconies with a view. The hotel itself is beautiful and the Mission Inn Restaurant is excellent. We were lucky to be there on Friday when they have the seafood buffet. Definitely worth it. The restaurant service is superb. Extremely frinedly, helpful waiters. We ordered room service for breakfast the following morning from the restaurant as well. Very professional staff. We also recommend the hotel tour from the Mission Inn museum which is part of the facility. I utilized the concierge service to order some flowers from the local flower shop and to arrange for reservations of a museum hotel tour. Very good concierge service and very friendly personnel. I would definitely return and recommend the Mission Inn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    167
    41
    40
    45
See reviews for
143
238
35
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A stunningly beautiful fortress nested into Riverside. Marvelous architecture with European style. So many areas to roam, sit and enjoy. All rooms, levels, floors unique in design. Very comfortable bed. Loved being able to have window open in bathroom and patio of bedroom both overlooking the pool. The hotel has a very concentrated unique scent throughout with the essence of orange blossom, eucalyptus, and fine tobacco. A somewhat intoxicating infusion of fragrance. Make sure you have good walking shoes. There is so much to see. Very friendly and helpful staff. Countless other great features. We has a wonderful stay with not one single thing within this grand property that could be any better. Side notes: if you happen to be there on a weekend, you can park free in the street metered areas. Make sure you add $ to meter come 9am Monday to avoid a ticket. Other self parking and valet parking both available for $$. You can also save $ by dining at a few local affordable eateries close by outside of the fortress. The one thing we did not know but soon found out was that while inside the two block expanse of this exquisite property you are safe and sound in a world of lush opulence yet just outside the walls is a substantial homeless population. Say a prayer for those folks as there are many and chances are if you are walking on the street, they will approach you as they did us. Walk in a pair or group if you are out and even though there is a CVS drugstore close by, we suggest for safety sake that you drive a block as opposed to walking if you have need to go there. Other than the circumstances outside of the hotel, we absolutely loved everything about hotel, would recommend it any/everyone and will definitely return. Such a grand and wonderful adventure inside the Mission Inn.

Room Tip: Personalize your booking. Work with Kelly O'Mary in the hotel reservations office either in conj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHINO , CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed on the second floor of the hotel over looking the pool which helped determine how soon we needed to get down there to find an empty lounge chair LOL!
It seems the only problem we had was the drainage in the bath tub ,but that was IMMEDIATELY looked into. We met a wonderful couple there at the pool side and shared stories. The same evening Aug. 4th @ 5:30pm we had dinner at The LAS CAMPANAS RESTURANT our server that nite was the best and very attentive, service with a smile and constantly checking on us, quick service too. Thanks to all the staff for making it a memorable time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Inn was spectacular, the photos are definitely accurate. Even if you don't normally appreciate architecture, you will love this place. The weekend was perfect, we spent a day touring the Inn and the local downtown area. When we weren't enjoying the patio, balcony, and hotel room, we were poolside. It was truly amazing, like stepping back in time. The Mission Inn is stunning and we will definitely be back. We stayed in one of the Mission Rooms because I was dying to have the stain-glass windows. It was well worth it.

Note:
The bathroom is on the small side, the shower was not intended for more than one person or for someone over 6'4. Also it can be a little drafty in the bathroom, it is an old building. Nothing that was uncomfortable though.

Dining:
Duane's was the best filet mignon we've had... period. Las Campanas (delicious as well) is outside dining, so note the weather. We took advantage of room service for breakfast one morning, very tasty and responsive. Recommend the fruit and waffles.

Things to Do:
Try the local drive-in, yes there is still one in existence! We went on Saturday with a picnic basket and enjoyed the drive-in fare as well as our own. We were traveling to try our hand at driving Indy cars at the Fontane Racetrack, the drive-in provided a nice change of pace. The area is your typical downtown, closing early and with little going on after hours. We also ventured over the the local museum that was a block away. The Ansel Adams exhibit was surprisingly thorough and unique.

Service:
Was ideal, the staff were friendly and responsive. The bellhop was the best we've ever had!

Recommendations:
Make reservations at Duane's Steakhouse (seriously delish!) and for the Mission Inn's Sunday Brunch before you arrive. Make the trip to the top floor for sunrise or sunset, the light on the buildings is truly stunning. Research some activities/destinations beforehand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The good:
-The hotel had top-notch service. The staff was prompt, knowlegable, well trained, helpful, and friendly whenever we had contact with them- whether it was the Mission Inn Resteraunt (more about that later), the front desk, the room service, the valet parking- all of them were excellent. They never said "no" to us on any request and went above and beyond to insure we had a pleasant stay.
-The hotel and grounds were impeccably well maintained. Everything was spotless and in good condition.
-The rooms were luxurious (in my opinion). I loved how they provided us with fluffy robes. I loved the attention to detail too- the little bows on the tissue and towels was super-cute! The rooms have complementary spa-quality toiletries- soap, lotion, etc. The bed, oh the BED! The bed was piled with fluffy down-pillows and the comforter was fluffy down too! It was like being on a cloud. (Though I have more to say about the pillows, later.) The MISSION KING room, at least the one we had, had a window seat AND a private balcony with patio furniture. :-) The room also had snacks and drinks in-room (at an extra cost, of course. But still it was a nice option.)
-The Mission Inn Resteraunt food was delicious. Service was unbeatable! Although we had one (excellent) server assigned to us, all the other staff helped each other when they saw a need. Our drink glasses never got empty. I love how they offer a buffet! There's a dinner buffet, a salad bar, and a dessert bar. And the buffet theme is different everyday. When we went (Friday night) it was Sea Food and my husband loved it. I had the rotissere chicken. Yum!
-The package we got was a very good value. We paid $189 for 1 night. It came with free valet parking (normally $15- yikes!) , one night in the MISSION KING room, two cupcakes from Casey's Cupcakes, and a $25 gift card to spend anywhere in the hotel- resteraunt, lounge, spa, room service... anywhere! We used it toward our final bill, which brings me to another point...
-The billing system is super convenient. Maybe this is normal, but anything we purchased could be added to our room tab if we wanted to. It was a nice option.

Ok, now the bad:
-Even though it is a five-star hotel, and it's a historical landmark, I still think everything is a little-bit over-priced. We happened to get a package that was a good deal... but their normal prices are a little steep for what you get. The room service charged us a $3 delivery fee, plus tax, PLUS tip. The snacks and drinks were over-priced too. We expect conveniences like that to be priced a little high, but in my opinion it was just a little bit TOO high. Whatever you do, DON'T order the in-room movies! Most of them were $16 and up! They had "deals" on a few, which were $5, but that was a very few. And there was no DVD player, at least not in our room.
-The TV was weird. Large, but weird. A lot of the channels looked kind-of blurry. The volume between channels was insanely different for some reason. (Network error, or TV malfunction?) We had to mute the volume till we found one we liked so we didn't wake up the neighborhood. Lol.
-There was almost nothing good on the channels you get for free.
-The pillows: although luxurious- comfy and fun to lounge in bed with, they were impractical and not good for sleep because they were too fluffy and didn't hold any shape or give much support.

That is my review. Over-all I had a wonderful time! I will deffintely be going back someday when I can afford it. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for luxury, romance, or relaxation. Just be prepared to spend a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I agree with others that this is THE place to stay in Riverside. Indeed, it seemed to be the only place where anything was happening in Riverside. The town otherwise seemed almost depressed it was so quiet; few people out and about; many closed stores.

You definitely need a map to get around this property. It is a real place to sight see in and off itself -- you can even take a guided tour if you like. The place has multiple restaurants and the food is good in the 4 we tried. The pool is a good size such that one can feel that a few laps actually does constitute exercise! There is pool-side service for drinks and food -- definitely this place has the feeling of a resort, not just an hotel. And clearly a LOT of weddings happen here.

Our room was very spacious, clean and well maintained with a Juliet balcony overlooking the pool. Unfortunately we were on the 2nd floor and, if I understand the hotel layout correctly, the rooms on this part of the 2nd floor at least were underneath the walkway for the 3rd floor above. In any event there was almost nonstop sound overhead: foot traffic thumping along as well as the rumble of rolling luggage. Others in our party were located elsewhere and were pleased with their rooms.

If you are going to Riverside, definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Don't choose the second floor facing the pool unless you don't mind hearing foot traffic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious, a king on the 2nd floor. There is a tour available and next time I'll take it. Lots of history here!

We enjoyed sitting around the pool area, although it was hard to get a seat as the staff was slow to pick up the wet towels and it was hard to tell if the chairs were taken or reserved (for you cruisers out there,you know what I'm talking about).

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast, typical fare. The Sunday brunch looked great, but too much food and too many dollars for me.

We found it hard to get a drink served to us outside of the restaurants. There are lovely couches and chairs in the extended lobby but they won't serve you there. Missing lots of revenue! Finally they put bar service at the pool on Sunday. But...there was no chairs :(

Room Tip: Room 223 is larger than some on the 2nd floor,it has a walk-in closet and a sitting area, but only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.