We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Riverside
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived at Hotel early and registered. Our room wasn't ready but check-in is posted as 4:00 p.m, Fawn got us registered and took our phone number to contact us when the room was ready. We were able to get into the room by 2. Had lunch at Las Campanas and enjoyed a red wine sangria with chile rellenos and Hubby had the Chili Verde. Had dinner at Bella Trattoria and enjoyed a magharita pizza with salads. Prices are a bit pricey at both places but food was good. After a long night in room 304 with the noise of dragging chairs and a compressor going on and off thorough out the night as well as light coming through the sky light early in the morning we went to the front desk and was greeted by Cristol who took care of us and promptly had our room changed after checkout which was 12. We had breakfast in the Mission Inn Resturant. Our waitress was slower than molasses. Saw two other tables be seated after us, order after us but they got their food before us (go figure), When I commented on it, her words were, "Well, they have a different server", hummm, think she just dissed herself, the other waitress was running circles around her. We got a phone call when the room we were being moved to was ready and it was a beautiful. Room 292 is really nice and a lot more quiet. We watched the game in the Presidential lounge and had to ask the bartender to put on the basketball game and ordered two beers. It really wasn't busy but the waitress took a while, hubby ended up going to bar and ordering two beers and was back at the table before we got our first round ordered with the waitress and the beers she brought were warm. Hubby took them to bar and had them exchanged for cold ones. Had appointment for the couples massage and I must say the ladies were wonderful. They did a great job with our massage and they ladies who did our facials were awesome as well. The only thing I can say negative is the area where they had us waiting prior to our massages, very small and cramped and a lot of foot traffic. It is really pretty inside but the impression that there is a heated pool and spa is deceiving because it is the hotel pool and spa so after having your massage, you can enjoy the pool with all the hotel guests, (nice and relaxed and then get to experience the screaming splashing kids) kinda a buzz kill after the couples massage. Don't get me wrong the employees at the spa are awesome and did a really great job and were all very friendly from the staff at check-in to the lady who gave us the tour, the masseurs and the facial specialists I give them major kuddos. Don't know that I would go back unless they have a really great promo. Would go back for the treatment not the ambiance. Check out monday morning was quick and easy. It is a beautiful facility and would recommend for at least one visit to experience the beautiful grounds and rich history.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor inside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    223
    58
    52
    55
See reviews for
179
308
45
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is Heaven.
The hotel itself is so charming, nothing like any other motel or cheap hotel !
The rooms are beautiful, very spacious, lot of light. We had a tea time in the lobby, it was a bit expensive (just like the whole place) but sooo worth it!
The pool is clean, quiet, and the gardens ....Wow!

It was a very peaceful and pleasant stay, I really recommend this "hotel" !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely beautiful property. We were staying at another hotel in Riverside as part of a group, but visited here because of all the great reviews. The view in the courtyard restaurant was gorgeous! Had dinner at Las Campanas, Mexican cuisine (tableside guac, yum) in a beautiful outdoor garden setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My stay at the Mission Inn was almost perfect.
The staff were courteous and helpful.
The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.
The hotel itself is gorgeous.
The location, convenient.

My only problem was the lack of internet access in the rooms. Had I gone on holiday I would have been over the moon. The price to connect in the rooms was prohibitive for me and having to sit in the lobby to work was less than ideal.

If you're there, make sure you try the Mission Inn Ale. It's delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Mission Inn before, and love the uniqueness of this hotel and the surrounding area. Let me start with the positives: clean room, excellent service at front desk, comfortable beds. Now the bad: AVOID room 259!!!! Seriously! Call after you reserve and ask what room # you have. When we checked in, we were told that room 259 has excessive nighttime noise. In the past, when reserving a hotel room through the hotel's own site, there will be notes on certain rooms that you can expect noise. These rooms are usually available at a lower price and you book it, knowing you may have extra noise. In our case, we were told as we checked in and were given the option to get ear plugs. Well, let me tell you, this room was NOISY (on a Thursday, Friday AND Saturday night). It was not from some once a year event...it was from a college club across the street, people exiting the building from receptions and proms, and from the restaurant directly below the room's windows. This was a suite, so we were expecting something really special for the price we were paying (it was NOT cheap). In addition, the room, which sleeps 4, only had seating for 3 people, and that was after pulling over a desk chair.
On a side note, another disappointment was the fact that a kid (not ours!) pooped in the pool on Saturday morning, so the pool was not open the entire day Saturday (until evening). Our 3 kids were beyond disappointed, and we were stuck finding alternate ways to entertain them since we had planned on a day by the pool. Perhaps offering us a free cocktail or sending the kids a free cupcake up to the room would have been a nice gesture? But, we were simply told the pool would open "around 4:30". I know, NOT their fault, but still disappointing. I am always impressed by establishments who not only apologize and understand your disappointment, but who also try to make it up by doing something extra nice for you....especially when you paid the amount we did to stay at this place!
So, overall, yes, I do like this hotel, but I would strongly recommend calling them before you visit to ask what room number you have and where it is located in the hotel. Get a hold of a hotel map, if possible, beforehand to be sure it is acceptable. Would we stay there again? Yes...but with extreme caution.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the front corners....specifically 259!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The pleasant experience begins before you even enter the hotel. First, there's it's beautiful appearance, and second, as you're walking up to hotel, the 40 feet before the entrance is bordered by sweet smelling flowers. The interior is so well done that you don't have any feeling of effort. Very comfortable, very beautiful, and full of historic artifacts that blend right in. The hotel has a spa, great places to eat both indoors and out, and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. The pool, and the street might be noisy until 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came here for a friend's wedding at the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and picturesque. It looks just like a castle and the architecture is truly amazing. Having read all the reviews and knowing that it's a four star hotel, I was expecting great service. While the valet parking crew and the bell desk were extremely nice and friendly and very helpful, I found the reception desk to have some problems.

The first night we stayed, it was booked through a friend so everything was set up when I got there. We did make a stop at the reception desk since about more than half of the wedding party booked our own individual rooms to stay in for the actual wedding night. We asked if we could check in early on Saturday and they said to ask in the morning since they can't guarantee any early check ins.

The next day, while getting our hair and makeup done, we called in the morning and had to sit on the phone for 20 minutes and then we were told we had to come back and check around 12pm. We called again around 12:30pm but sat waiting for someone to pick up the phone. Frustrated after 20 minutes, we went down to the front desk to find someone to talk to in person. Low and behold, there is no line at the front desk. Strange as to why no one picked up the phone.

We asked again if we could check in early knowing that we had a wedding to be at and photos to take and we wanted to move all of our luggage into our rooms for the night. We were told to leave our contact information for our significant others and that they would call us around 2pm to check in.

Our biggest frustration is that we were constantly being told that we had to keep waiting. On top of the fact that we were part of the wedding and the hotel knew this and still wouldn't accommodate us for just a one hour early check in.

Instead of 2pm, we all got phone calls around 3:15pm saying that we could finally check into our rooms but at that time we were already taking photos and couldn't go downstairs. Our significant others ended up having to check in either way but I felt like the whole situation was not handled properly for a four star hotel.

The rooms itself are a bit older and outdated. The pipes make funny noises at night. And if you stay in a room that faces the inner courtyard, beware since it can be really loud in the early morning with people eating Sunday brunch. It felt like the noise was bouncing off the walls in our room and I even wear ear plugs to bed!

Overall, I was pretty disappointed with our stay. The wedding was beautiful but the hotel service was not what I was expecting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside Downtown/ UCR Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 25 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.