We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Inyokern Road, Ridgecrest, CA 93555   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just outside Death Valley to the South the town of Ridgecrest boasts several cheap hotel and motel options. From Best Western at the expensive end of the scale and with EconoLodge and America’s Best Value Inn being at the opposite end of this scale.
We selected EconoLodge for our stay in Ridgecrest as it served its purpose if being a place to stay for one night for then to move on early the next day. We paid $69 including internet and a well-equipped continental breakfast. That’s less than half price of Best Western a mile down the street. The room was from another era and I’m sure they loved it back then. The thick, brown wall-to-wall carpet makes it a little warmer in this desert motel. The warm water in the toilet bowl didn’t cool anything down, either. We were glad the noisy aircondition unit actually worked – the room went from desert heat to arctic cold in a matter of minutes.
Despite these few flaws and the free internet being out of order we actually thought EconoLodge was worth every one of the 69 dollars we spent for this one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Price was OK but my room was shabby and didn't smell so good. A/C only did freezing cold. Free in-room WiFi is a big plus, except that it was very slow the first night and kaput the next. This was very frustrating as I had work to do. That said, the staff were genuinely apologetic and tried to arrange access to another network for rooms close enough to the source (did not work for me). I chose this motel based on price and proximity to Rt 178 but Ridgecrest is small and its only a short drive to chain restaurants etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ridgecrest hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Basically everything was as could be expected for 69$. Checkin fast and friendly but the lady at the front desk told me the Internet was down. Thats a major minus for me and would have been a no go if i hadnt paid in advance.
Room pretty large and clean with lots of TV channels to choose from. Aircon very loud and it took its time to cool down the room. But i guess its ok taking into account the outside temperature of around 110 F.Right beside the motel is the local movie theater. Shopping and eateries within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends for two nights to attend the Petroglyph tour on the China Lake NWS.
PROS
Closest hotel to the base.
Updated rooms with granite counter tops in bath (king rooms)
Clean, quiet in back of building, great water pressure and refrigerator
Nice breakfast with waffles, although I augmented with our own deli ham and yogurt
CONS
Water pressure was too strong for the drains (all well, my feet got cleaned)
Breakfast could expand a bit with healthier choices
Some rooms only had a/c, no heat...one of our group needed to change rooms
Caveat: The front desk was quick and changed the room in less than 5 min.

I have stayed at the Motel 6 for trips to Death Valley and the Petroglyph tour. This beat them hands-down. This will be my hotel of choice for a quick stay in the future.

Room Tip: Book via Internet for best prices. Gal at registration desk commented on our great price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Check in was easy and fast. The room was very clean. It was located right next to the base entrance gate.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I just got back from a fall family trip to Death Valley, and we stayed at this hotel. I don't know about you, but in these tough economic times I am not focused on luxury, but a place that offers simple good quality and high value. This hotel was exactly that: clean, safe and comfortable enough, nothing fancy, for my family traveling in a group of 8. We got one standard room and one suites room for pretty cheap. It was exactly what we needed to have a fun, economical vacation to Death Valley.

The morning breakfast was a bonus too, these guys have a full spread from muffins to toast and hot waffles, and was perfect to fill up my munchkins before we got going in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool seem a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
823 helpful votes 823 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Does the job. Massive beds, big spacious rooms. A little outdated sure, but clean. On the scenic route through Death Valley to/from Las Vegas.

For the price you pay you cannot complain.

Very motel-ish but felt safe enough.

Ridgecrest has enough going on in terms of restaurants and shops.

As a stayover place for the night it is fine.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 201 Inyokern Road, Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ridgecrest
Ridgecrest Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.