We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expect clean and nothing else and you will be very happy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Ridgecrest
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“expect clean and nothing else and you will be very happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a great budget hotel; expect nothing and you will be happy. The price was amazing. Thank goodness there was no breakfast; there is nothing worse than those unhealthy, preservative-laden breakfasts that other hotels boast and that we pay for but do not eat. I would rather NOT eat the breakfast and buy my breakfast from a restaurant.

The room was long and narrow, clean, everything worked, no bugs! The only ding that we had was that the walls were thin so bring ear plugs. This hotel was just a little bit out of the way from Tioga Pass on the way to Arizona. The pickings are slim in this area so we were glad to get a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Ridgecrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Apart from a free bottle of water per person checking in there were no frills. But: The room was absolutely clean, spacious and - compared to similar properties in the west - very cheap. The staff also was very nice. We'd stay there again.

On a side note regarding our stay: Ridgecrest is conveniently located if you want to visit Death Valley while on your way from the West Coast to Las Vegas, but you should check with CalTrans first. We had an unexpected road closure between Trona and Death Valley that was only announced about 20 miles into the trip.

Room Tip: A ground floor room makes sense if you only stay for a night, which is what you'll probably do i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our brand new budget hotel, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Ridgecrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you stop here knowing it's a budget hotel (note the name), you will be very happy. No frill's, but very clean and updated. The desk staff is friendly and the place spotless inside and out. I stayed in room 118 and it had fresh paint, new carpet, nice furniture and bedding. No iron/hairdryer, but shampoo. Flat screen TV and A/C worked fine. Not sure why others have been so harsh - basic yes, but that's what you're paying for. Large parking area and parked right outside my door. Booked on Booking.com for $49. Coffee in the lobby, but that was it. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comment, I am glad you enjoyed our brand new hotel. we hope you share your experience with your friends and family, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would want to complain a bit about the boring rooms, lack of amenities and poor service, but it doesn't feel quite fair considering the price. However, these last few days I have stayed in a lot of cheap places and still gotten a lot more for the same AND less money. So it's not super good value for the money, but definitely okay for me as a poor student. Liked that there was no smoking, but didn't like how that was presented to us. The manager sounded very unfriendly when he brought it up. But maybe that's just how he is like, and nothing personal. I don't really know. I however understand the complaints I have read about the service level and the staff. Big minus was that there was no pool. In that disgustingly hot town you need a pool. Or else it is really not pleasant. So keep that in mind before choosing this hotel. Otherwise, if you'd like a fairly cheap stay and not have too high demands it's perfect. At least if you don't stay for so long.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Paulina, thank you or your comment, we are sorry our hotel feel short of your expectations, we are working hard to improve our hotel and thank you for your feedback. We will make sure your next stay at our hotel is nothing but excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms okay but everything is done in poor quality finish from the doors to the towels. No continental breakfast is served even though it should be included. You can pick up a cup of coffee and one tiny supermarket bought plastic wrapped muffin per person. We didn't expect much, but you definitely couldn't call that a continental breakfast. Hosts not real friendly either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Kortrijk, I am sorry if you were miss informed about our continental breakfast, we do not serve nor advertise continental breakfast but do have complimentary coffee and pastries in the office. At Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest we take every comment seriously, I will talk to management regarding this issue and hope that during your next stay with us we have that service available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALAMA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in early June while helping a friend move. The owner went out of his way to accommodate my post surgical knee. The rooms were clean, impeccably so. The Air Conditioner worked well a consideration when you are there doing physical work in 105 degree days. No complaints at all would definitely stay again if in the area. IT was new and well furnished

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you found the property to be so inviting. I will share your wonderful feedback with my staff including the housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as our guest on your return to Ridgecrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

this place isn't fancy at all nor does it have a lot of amenities but it's very clean and everything looks new.
if you want a place that doesn't smell like cigarette smoke come here because the owner is very strict about not allowing smoking inside rooms. and the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment, hope to see you soon on your next visit to Ridgecrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Address: 131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest, conveniently located off of CA-178 in Ridgecrest, California. Our hotel is close to the China Lake Naval Air Warfare Center, US Naval Museum of Technology, and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. We are also near several corporations including National Technical Systems Inc, Tybrin Corporation, and Cosner Neipp Corporation. Maddy's Cottage, Golden Ox Restaurant, and Kristy's Family Restaurant are all within half a mile of our hotel. Whether traveling through or staying for a fun getaway, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Our brand new smoke free 2012 exterior corridor hotel offers copy and fax services. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities include wireless high-speed Internet access, satellite TV with ESPN, HBO, and Showtime, 35" LCD flat panel TV, free local calls, and wake-up service. Iron, ironing board is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.