We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Extremely Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited this America's Best Value Inn a few weeks ago. We arrived too early for check in, but were willing to wait. The hotel clerk, possibly owner (man) greeted us outside and offered us a bottle of water to enjoy while we waited for the rooms to be cleaned. We also received a great rate, $56 approx. I was extremely impressed and surprised at how nice and comfortable the room and property were for the price. The room and bathroom were very clean, The a/c was off upon our arrival but worked great to cool the room off in no time at all. The property is no smoking and I remember having to sign something stating we would abide by the rules. Being non smokers, this was welcomed. The carpet appeared newer and clean, clean and comfortable king beds, pillows and linens, flat screen tv, luggage rack, charging ports in the bedside lamps, and small refrigerator.

We will gladly use this ABVI again when traveling. It was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying at Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest; we hope you share your great experience at our hotel with your friends and family. Thank you for your comments and will look forward to seeing you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Near Portsmouth, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As an englishman three weeks into a tour of the western states I feel compelled to write my first review. Thus far, about 18 rooms into the tour, I have received great American hospitality and value for money both from small family motels, and chains, admittedly picking most with Trip Advisor reviews in mind.

But what mostly annoyed about this place was "breakfast". In England they would not get away with it, Warm coffee pot and a tiny plastic wrapped muffin. Yes, that was breakfast! Frankly, pathetic. No hot water on hand, no tea bags, no milk, etc etc (mostly these and more have come as the standard breakfast every where else). And whilst fully supporting no smoking I did not like almost having to give an oath that I would not smoke on the premises. It was the way it was handled - poorly. Dangerous electric socket, broken shower curtain fittings, fridge but no microwave (?), no coffee maker, room where no aircon on on arrival on a day when temp was 108, all added to our 1st disappointing stay in USA.

Room Tip: Try another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking to share with us your experience at our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest we do not advertise breakfast, as a complementary we have coffee and pastries for our guest, I am sorry that you were misinformed regarding breakfast. We like to take pride in our Brand new facility and enforce the no smoking on the property heavily as most new hotels are now doing so. We try to give all of our customers an affordable experience at our hotel as we are not a 5 star hotel, I am sorry that you felt that our hotel fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugwash, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I did not expect much not. I just needed a place to shower and sleep after doing some brush clearing on property in Lake Isabella Valley. I always bring my own coffee maker and coffee and like a Boy Scout I am well prepared. I am not a sissy lah-lah girl and put whiny demands to make my life a hassle nor anyone else. But I do love quality, cleanliness and real non-smoking rooms.
Let me tell you also I did not expect any food or treats, I wanted a place to rest. I was pleasantly impressed with my room, it was clean and their was no sick smell from other people, in fact through the night it smelled really nice! I have been to hotels and motels where it smells nice when you go in but in a few hours the nasty smell from others before or a poorly cleaned room soon dominate. I love animals/cats and dogs but I detest when people bring dogs in hotels because I know that dogs anal glands get full of yuk and they rub their bottoms or drag them on the carpet to itch. Thank God this place does not allow any anal gland gifted pets!!!

I love the decor, which is tasteful, the desk clerk ( I do not know if it is the owner) but I noticed he had a sense of humble pride and was very kind, it tells me he is the owner but I should not make assumptions. The manager/desk clerk seems to maintain the exterior of the premises nice and tidy. Yes I would come back here and if I had any relatives who were coming to this area I would also recommend this Inn. The total for one night was, including taxes was $50 mid week. I am not a needy person and had breakfast at a little hole in the wall, "Midway Cafe" but it accepts only cash.

All in all I made a hot work into a nice little vacation with ABVI, it helped me make lemonade out of lemons!!

Room Tip: During the Summer everyone is hot, be a positive traveler. Do not make it a mission to be a stinker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you found the property to be so inviting. I will share your wonderful feedback with my staff including the housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as our guest on your return to Ridgecrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We didn't get any cookies on arrival or at any other time either. Room was pretty basic, but clean and the bedding was in good shape. The shower rod was poorly installed so water got all over the floor (a pet peeve of mine). Wi-Fi was weak; worked okay on laptop but not on cell phone. Much less expensive than other decent places in Ridgecrest, though, so if you are willing to settle for basic accomodations - good enough for enlisted men, as my father used to say - it will serve you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaD_11
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean, spacious and great value. Excellent service. We were given cookies on arrival and the owner was very nice. I would stay here again if happened to be passing through Ridgecrest. Really good stop over to break up a long drive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at ABVI Ridgecrest, we are glad your liked our hotel. We hope you share your wonderful experience with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I got a special online prepaid weeknight rate of $53 and I knew that Ridgecrest was a military town, so I wasn't expecting anything too great. Was I wrong! My room was as nice as what I'd expect of a $100/night hotel. Each room has been completely renovated, with new electronic room key system, attractive modern furniture (including a pillow-top mattress), new carpet, new bedspread & pillows, a decent-sized plasma TV, desk & office chair, refrigerator, etc. On-site managers were super-friendly. A nice property and an incredible value.

The ABV Inn is very centrally located so there are several restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has no amenities and no breakfast, but that's not a problem for this traveler.

Only negative: the towels seem to be a carryover from the pre-renovation days; they are stiff and scratchy. I hope, like the rest of this property, they're updated soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest. We are happy that you found our location so convenient and we hope to have you as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This motel is centrally located in Ridgecrest and provided good basic accommodations. I would stay there again. Direct TV requires channel surfing to find your favorite channels. Wi-Fi was easy to log into and was used to locate the many eateries Ridgecrest has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Address: 131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest, conveniently located off of CA-178 in Ridgecrest, California. Our hotel is close to the China Lake Naval Air Warfare Center, US Naval Museum of Technology, and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. We are also near several corporations including National Technical Systems Inc, Tybrin Corporation, and Cosner Neipp Corporation. Maddy's Cottage, Golden Ox Restaurant, and Kristy's Family Restaurant are all within half a mile of our hotel. Whether traveling through or staying for a fun getaway, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Our brand new smoke free 2012 exterior corridor hotel offers copy and fax services. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities include wireless high-speed Internet access, satellite TV with ESPN, HBO, and Showtime, 35" LCD flat panel TV, free local calls, and wake-up service. Iron, ironing board is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.