We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
LanaD_11
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stopover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean, spacious and great value. Excellent service. We were given cookies on arrival and the owner was very nice. I would stay here again if happened to be passing through Ridgecrest. Really good stop over to break up a long drive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at ABVI Ridgecrest, we are glad your liked our hotel. We hope you share your wonderful experience with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I got a special online prepaid weeknight rate of $53 and I knew that Ridgecrest was a military town, so I wasn't expecting anything too great. Was I wrong! My room was as nice as what I'd expect of a $100/night hotel. Each room has been completely renovated, with new electronic room key system, attractive modern furniture (including a pillow-top mattress), new carpet, new bedspread & pillows, a decent-sized plasma TV, desk & office chair, refrigerator, etc. On-site managers were super-friendly. A nice property and an incredible value.

The ABV Inn is very centrally located so there are several restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has no amenities and no breakfast, but that's not a problem for this traveler.

Only negative: the towels seem to be a carryover from the pre-renovation days; they are stiff and scratchy. I hope, like the rest of this property, they're updated soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Americas Best Value Inn Ridgecrest. We are happy that you found our location so convenient and we hope to have you as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This motel is centrally located in Ridgecrest and provided good basic accommodations. I would stay there again. Direct TV requires channel surfing to find your favorite channels. Wi-Fi was easy to log into and was used to locate the many eateries Ridgecrest has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean hotel, good price, polite staff, but...
Walls are very thin and you can here every little word, cough, flush, burp in the next room. Next time I would pay a bit more for the good nights sleep I was looking for. Just my experience, nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ridgecrest hotels

Alhambra, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in late March and besides what has already been said, I would add three things. Some rooms have refrigerators so you need to request a room with a frig if you need one. Secondly, a heads up - there is another Value Inn that is not yet open as you come into town from the south. Keep going a few more blocks and you will find the motel on the left just before the Motel 6 and the Quality Inn. And on the subject coffee - it is beyond weak so we had some instant coffee and added it to the coffee. American motel coffee is not particularly good, but this was a new low for both of us. Notwithstanding the above and the earlier comments, at $38/night on an advance non refundable booking, the value is there despite some issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Brand new hotel - the tv remote was not yet programmed. Clean but really basic; hard beds, no clock or coffee maker. Morning breakfast was coffee, bowl of oranges and 3 muffins hidden by a tray. I had to ask to find where they were. Staff seemed nice. Think we will try another place if we drive through this town again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed two nights at this motel. The staff was very nice, the rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, the TVs work fine. (I had to switch rooms the second night because there was a huge plumbing leak that soaked the carpet in the bathroom area, hence my reference to "beds" and "rooms" in the plural.)

However, the advertised "free wifi" does not exist. If you need to use your computer, you have to go to the lobby area and hope it works there. They need to invest in a high grade router that will accommodate the buildings or else stop advertising that they have internet.

If you need to eat anything other than coffee and a small roll for breakfast, plan on going to a restaurant. The morning fare is not good.

All in all, if you are looking for a moderately priced, clean accommodation and you don't need anything else, then this will suffice. But if you are staying for an extended visit and/or want more amenities, try another venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North

Address: 131 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest, conveniently located off of CA-178 in Ridgecrest, California. Our hotel is close to the China Lake Naval Air Warfare Center, US Naval Museum of Technology, and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. We are also near several corporations including National Technical Systems Inc, Tybrin Corporation, and Cosner Neipp Corporation. Maddy's Cottage, Golden Ox Restaurant, and Kristy's Family Restaurant are all within half a mile of our hotel. Whether traveling through or staying for a fun getaway, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites North Ridgecrest offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Our brand new smoke free 2012 exterior corridor hotel offers copy and fax services. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities include wireless high-speed Internet access, satellite TV with ESPN, HBO, and Showtime, 35" LCD flat panel TV, free local calls, and wake-up service. Iron, ironing board is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.