We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for a nice price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ridgecrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ridgecrest to your Saves list
Super 8 Ridgecrest
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   426 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Ridgecrest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice room for a nice price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was suprised about this room. I thought it would be a standard chain motel room but it was a nice, colourful, modern, bright and clean room with two beautiful large black and white pictures of Mobius Arch (in the Alabama Hills) at the wall. Beds were great, bathroom was clean, lovely lady Lucy at the front desk. I would stay here again. We paid 66.08 including tax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa L, Manager at Super 8 Ridgecrest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.


We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Again thank you very much for your feed back.
Luz Rodriguez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We checked in to this hotel walk into the room and it was suppose to be remodeled, not at all. It smelt like something died in the room. We spread perfume to mask the smell and give the place the benefit of doubt. Then we started seeing baby flies in the room. Ended up killing 10 of them. After an hour of this we went down to get our money back so we could go somewhere else. The "owner" not sure if he really was yelled at my husband. Whom was calm about the situation. This hotel gives the Wyndham brand a bad name.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa L, Manager at Super 8 Ridgecrest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out, and letting our staff here at Super 8 China Lake, know how your stay was. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

We are very sorry we did not meat your expectations, our staff is doing its best to improve and continue to provide a good costumer service to all of our guest. Hope you had a nice Trip and hope one day you will give us the chance to show you our improvement.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (760)375-2220


Sincerely,
Luz Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pretty good for the price. Seeing the room and overall property, I knew it wasn't originally a Super 8. We saw the place fills up even on week nights. The TV set is what I expected, but they had both HBO and Showtime, not one or the other like most cheap motels. My wife has me always reserved top floor rooms and they gave us one towards the front of the property. After checking in, getting ready to go to dinner, three 15 passenger vans arrived with college age kids. When we returned from dinner, I knew they were gone to eat and on their return, they stayed up, running around, joking and laughing, young men and women till after 11 PM, which irritated my wife and the management said and did nothing.I was going to call the front desk at 11:30 but the noise had stopped. My wife was OK with the poor continental breakfast in the morning and I was happy with the room overall. Not much parking available, the small lot fills up, I still don't know where they put all those kids. So concerning the cost, it's not a bad place, but on the way back thru town from Death Valley two days later, we stayed down the street at Motel 6, where we usually sleep when passing through Ridgecrest on a Geocaching Trip.

Room Tip: Top floor (second Floor here) should be quieter at any place. Get a room more to the back of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We think this has recently become part of the super chain as there was a sign in the lobby. Might of been called 'vagabonds'? So it possibly hasn't been updated yet. Still has an ancient CRT TV which shows how old it is. Room was clean and well kept and shower was good. Main issue was noise. Our upstairs neighbours were clattering and banging about and the gap under the front door was so big every time someone went past you could hear them clearly. Breakfast is very basic too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Quite surprised at the low rate; great service and cleanliness of room. Bathroom was newly tiled, painted and CLEAN. Beds could have been firmer but for this price it worked! Cold cereal, toast, coffee and juice then on our way. See you again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I received service and amenities that would have been expected at a much higher priced place. I would recommend this motel to anyone who is looking for more than just the cheapest place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ridgecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ridgecrest

Address: 426 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Ridgecrest)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ridgecrest 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce our recently renovated rooms, new carpets, bedding, new continental breakfast like, 2 type of cereal, cinnamon rolls, assorted variety of yogurt, toast, waffles, tea, coffee, fresh fruit, orange juice, assorted variety of oatmeal.Same great costumer service, for our wonderful guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ridgecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Ridgecrest
Vagabond Motel Ridgecrest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ridgecrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.