We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the pictures” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ridgecrest

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Ridgecrest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Ridgecrest
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   131 W. Upjohn Street, Ridgecrest, CA 93555   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Ridgecrest
Gardnerville, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't believe the pictures”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was an awful motel. It needs a complete overall. It needs paint. It had a huge crack in the vanity, the drain the the sink was broken. Stains in the bathtub and cigarette burns on the furniture. Very limited hot water. The last straw was when my husband had to kill the cockroach. The bed , however, was comfortable. We would never stay here again and would think twice about staying at a travelodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
15
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I definitely agree with all the other negative reviews~ This place was terrible for a supposenly nice mid quality motel chain! It doesn't even deserve a "Travelodge" name! Another foreign run motel that's outdated and run down (inside and out)! The temp. was 100 when we got there and the room felt about the same! The old air conditioner barely worked. The "high/low" control was broke off so you couldn't adjust it. Had to stuff the bottom of the drapes in the window sill so air would blow in. Room did not cool off for hours!!! The bathtub was stained. The shower was built for a 3-4 foot tall person and the ridiculous water faucet knobs were a joke that could not hardly be adjusted to get warm water. Coffee maker was badly stained but worked if you wanted "Arabica" coffee only! Group of Young adults in the next room were loud and noicey!! I relunctedly gave this place one star only because the bed was halfway comfortable. It should have been half that! ......Should have known by the low price it wasn't going to be good, but just assumed prices were lower in Ridgecrest because of the location! Boy was I wrong!.......(ps: don't go by what you see in the pic's of this old place on the internet either)!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Travelodge brand usually grants medium/high quality in the motel accomodation field. Travelodge Ridgecrest is definitely far from even approaching it, placing itself in the lowest rank of the Travelodge world I've seen up to now. The motel is outdated but that's not the main reason why I rated it negatively. I asked for a non smoking room and officially I was offered one but as soon as I opened the door I was struck by an overwhelming smoke smell like if any previous guest had been smooking all the time during his/her stay.(Maybe I should have listened to a family I met in the parking lot who told me they were not checkin in because of the smoke stink) I decided to try and ventilate the room and I discovered that the window lock was broken and a simple wood stick worked as a block.Very unsafe. The room was provided with a fridge, microwave and a coffee maker, sad to say this latter appliance was unusable since the only coffee available was a partially open torn and damaged by water pack. The wi fi connection was not working despite I was granted it was available and I had to use a computer in the lobby to ckeck my e mail. Last but not least as it often happens in the motels run by foreign people I'm still missing my Wyndham Rewards poins. At the ckeck in they told me to show my card when checking out (??) and at check out time they said their computer was not working. I wonder how Travelodge and Wyndham can rely on someone who's clearly trying to cheat its guests. Before leaving the motel I had a complimentary very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Understand older motel trying to upgrade. But they need to learn the business first. Yet ANOTHER foreign owned motel. They can speak n understand English pretty well. But had NO NETWORK STATIONS!!! Said cable told them needed new tvs. Mediacom????? TV specialist??? Should have stayed @ Motel 6 would had good cable tv, paid for daily internet, and no micro/refrigerator!! LOL. BUT here I had a BATHTUB. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night while traveling to Death Valley NP, which is about 3 hours drive. The room was nice and clean, so was the hotel, the staffs were good too. I guess the breakfast could have been better. But looking at the price they charged me (45$), I don't have complain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was due to arrive late so I made reservations and paid for a Single Queen Room. When I arrived at 1000 PM the lady at the desk said "we changed your room preference to a Double Queen Room please do not bother the bed you do not use so we don't have to remake it tommorow."
I travel with a Pug, and told her I would not touch it but I couldn't vouch for my dog. As I was unloading my car she was rushing into the room to take the linens off one of the beds.

All night I thought about who may have been in the room before me and used only one of the beds!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

OK, this is an older property, and it ain't the Ritz Carlton. But that being said, all the *important* stuff (fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, satellite TV, wi-fi) was there, and worked well. Bed was comfortable, and as clean as I could expect, given the price. A/C worked wonderful, runs continuously so you don't get those start-up and shut-down noises. I noticed my slipper-socks did NOT get dirty walking about the room, unlike at most Motel 6 and other "economy" motels. Bathroom area, like everything else, was older but reasonably clean, and again, everything worked well, including the shower and toilet. One peculiarity about my room: being the furthest from the front, I had to run my bath for about 5 full minutes before the hot water got back to my room, no big deal except I hate to waste the water. I really think this facility got a few unfortunate reviews, if your expectations are high, then you should be staying at a higher-end motel. This is my 2nd stay here (on business), and I'll return.

Room Tip: I stayed in #214, on the end, upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ridgecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ridgecrest

Address: 131 W. Upjohn Street, Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ridgecrest 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Ridgecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgecrest Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Ridgecrest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ridgecrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.