We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maddy's Cottage - CLOSED

Maddy's Cottage
411 S. China Lake Boulevard, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-4609
760 375-0462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lilited menu, but all of there offerings are very tasty (try the crab cake salad for a lighter option). Great for a special occasion.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food -- Grest service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Some of the better italian fare on SOCAL. Egg plant was fantastic. Linguini bolognese wonderful. Magic water glasses...they were never empty (great service). Only negative: First order of rolls were warm and moist - so good we asked for more - second order was hard and cold.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a nice place to go for dinner or Sunday brunch. The food is very good and you can ask for things not on menu and the owner-chief will make it for you. It is too bad the building is so old. I suppose you can't be too picky in such a small town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Saturday night, few customers. Some in windowless back room . A few in the front room. No atmosphere. Boring decor. Why not close off back room unless needed, fill up the front. Put cloths on tables evenings. Turn down lights, way too bright. Put candles on tables. Get some atmosphere. Background music was good. Server (Maddy) real nice girl. Food ok but needed seasoning. Wake up folks, this is supposed to be a BUSINESS!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Never a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Maddy's cottage -named for the owner's daughter- was a very pleasant surprise. After a completely disappointing visit to the Maturango Museum (see my review on that page) we stopped into Maddy's Cottage for lunch on a holiday weekend Friday. The outside of this somewhat rundown converted residence, with a tattered banner over the entry, is not the most inviting to say the least. But when we opened the door our hopes jumped up immediately, it smelled wonderful! A melange of grilling meat, Italian cheeses and creamy sauces greeted our noses and we stepped right in. The atmosphere leaves much to be desired. To say it's spartan is an understatement. Bare white walls and carpet that has seen too much foot traffic from the kitchen floor, and the kitchen pass through is not well concealed. But ignore these cosmetic issues. The menu promises and the chef delivers. My wife had the cooked brie sandwich or burger with a relish that was both sweet and had a piquant kick. I had the Chicken Caesar salad which was actual white and dark meat cut from the bone, not canned formed chunks as in so many other restaurants, with home made sour dough croutons and plenty of freshly grated Asiago cheese. The menu has an Italian flair but also offers some simple American sandwiches and burgers. The owner/chef was formerly at the Mission Inn in Riverside, how and why he came to be in Ridgecrest of all places is a mystery, but the community is better for it. So if you are in of a better than average meal only a few minutes of off highway 395, give Maddy's Cottage a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddy's Cottage also viewed

Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 
Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maddy's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.