We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wigwam Motel

Wigwam Motel
2728 W. Foothill Blvd., Rialto, CA 92376
909-875-3005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rialto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wigwam Motel is a famous Route 66 Landmark which began in the early 1930's by Frank Redford, the founder. The chain was best known for its unique wigwam village construction and modern amenities. The California Wigwam Motel was built in1949 and was the last of 7 to have been built. The roadside landmark draws international and national tourists who drive over 2400 miles to gain the experience of the famous Historic Route 66 way!
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A Route 66 classic! This place is so cute! The wigwams are clean and so much bigger than I thought it would be. The beds were comfy. And the staff is great. If you drive Route 66, or if you have a little one that likes the Cars movie you have to stay here!! We loved this place!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

"Customer Service" is not known at the Wigwam Motel in Rialto.
Instead of behind accommodating, they've made a large group of guest run the other way. What a disappointment!!
They don't deserve anyone's business at this point.
Not worth the money.. think twice before you book.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of only two left”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There were a number of Wigwam motel complexes in the USA but I believe only two remain and they are both on Route 66. The one situated in Rialto CA is the largest and has had a big face lift with immaculate lawns and freshly painted wigwams. There is no doubt that the owners have put in a lot of work restoring the location but unfortunately for me it leaves it a little sterile and lacking the authenticity of the other Wigwam Motel in Holbrook AZ. If you are just planning to visit and photograph then you may not receive a welcome as the owner will expect a visit to his shop. I found him a little hostile on my last visit and resentful that we only wanted to photograph the wigwams. Members of my party did visit his shop but found nothing they wished to purchase and this was not well received. Whilst understanding that this is a commercial venture, as are loads of locations along Route 66, this was the most disappointing reception we had on our journey along the complete length of Route 66 where we were welcomed what ever the reason is for our visit. Whilst one understands that the owner has to make a living he also has to expect the Route 66 travellers to stop by just to look after all it is listed as a "Route 66 Attraction". In my opinion the Wigwam Motel in Holbrook is the best to photograph as there are a lot of authentic American classic cars on site. Whilst it is perhaps not a chic as Rialto if you judge it by its welcome it wins hands down.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kumar represents the next generation of Route 66 preservationists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a very comfortable and hospitable stay at the Wigwam this week. Kumar, the manager, is a young guy with an obvious love for the Wigwam motel and for Route 66. It was really fun discussing the various people and places we shared in common--it's obvious that Kumar knows them quite well! So, to the next generation that will keep the route alive and well for our sons and daughters to visit in the future!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classic Route 66 attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Wigwam Motel several times now. Each and every time has been great. My wife and I always bring our kids and we love the place. The rooms are nice sized and the overall condition of the place is excellent, very clean and comfortable. The staff is super nice and make you feel like a family member. I highly recommend this motor court. We travel Route 66 often and have a blast. Help keep a real 66icon alive! We will definitely stay again. Lots to see in the area around, much to do!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigwam Motel also viewed

 

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wigwam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.