We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Excellent, Fresh, Big Lobster.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Port Lobster Shack

Old Port Lobster Shack
851 Veterans Blvd, Redwood City, CA 94063-1712
650-366-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 236 restaurants in Redwood City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Northern Cal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, Excellent, Fresh, Big Lobster.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I went to Old Port Lobster Shack with family last week. The food was delicious. We ordered 4 Lobsters (3 steamed ones and 1 baked one). Both preparation were really good. The waiter was friendly. Atmosphere was great. Not only I love the Lobsters, I also loved the Lobster Chowder! It was to die for. So good. I would definitely come back to the restaurant for more visits.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    21
    31
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“miscommunication & bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

order wrong, bugs in salad, plain lobster.
I don't wanna go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lobster roll...yum, crab roll...yum, fish and chips...yum, lobster bisque...yum. The restaurant is in a strip mall with ample parking. It isn't a big place, maybe a dozen or so tables inside and a few outside by the parking lot. There is only one person taking orders so it takes a while. When we left there was a long line out the door. Pricey but deliciously worth it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“West coast location, east coast food, south coast music...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

I wanted casual seafood while on the west coast and I found just what I was looking for at the OP Lobster Shack. Except that all the seafood is from Maine... Why?? If I'm not mistaken, there are good crabs in the Pacific, right? Well, anyway, the crab roll was delicious. The cole slaw was phenomenal. Service was really nice. There was a line out the door when we got there and we almost didn't stay. But the line moved fast and service was with a smile.

Atmosphere is casual and comfortable, especially with Cajun music strumming in the background. I'm glad they paid homage to America's awesome third coast via music!

Prices are high but it is lobster that was apparently shipped across the country, so...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and son took me to the OP Lobster Shack for Mother's Day. And even though we had a 30 minute wait to get in the door, it was worth the wait! The prices may be a bit on the high side, but they don't hold back on the amount of lobster you get in a roll or in the salad. Their lobster bisque is terrific too. Well worth the hour drive and I can't wait to go back

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Port Lobster Shack also viewed

Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 
Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to Old Port Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Port Lobster Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.