We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn Down, Bad Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City to your Saves list
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worn Down, Bad Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a brief business stay at the Atherton Park Inn. Though Atherton has a reputation as an expensive location, the area around the hotel wasn't the greatest - I arrived after an evening flight and ended up buying snacks through a bulletproof window at a nearby gas station because nothing was open nearby. The hotel itself seemed pretty worn down although nothing in particular was dirty or out of order. I wouldn't particularly enjoy staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
35
9
20
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here following surgery at Stanford Medical Center. We were unprepared for diet restrictions and sickness following the procedure. The staff could not have been more kind and attentive to our needs. They provide bananas and yogurt when we returned from the hospital, and other items we needed. We truly felt like their guests, and their concern was comforting. We are truly grateful.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

During a rather difficult period when my wife was in Stanford Hospital I spent a week at this hotel. I originally chose it because it had been recommended by an acquaintance, was near the hospital, and offered a special Stanford Hospital rate. To my delight it also turned out to be spacious, clean and very accommodating. From the front office staff to those cleaning the room or working in the breakfast dining area, everyone working there seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. I cannot think of a better place to have spent the week.

Room Tip: It is probably better to get a room near the rear of the property away from the busy El Camino Real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There is no excuse for a hotel charging these rates to have such terrible pillows. The staff was wonderful-super friendly and helpful so that is a plus. And the room was clean if a little shabby. But the pillows are really, really bad.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When I arrived the power was out in the hotel, Housekeeping spoke no English and when they knocked and I told them "just a minute" they walked in anyway (twice). When I tried to hold a conversation with the ones who walked in they understood no English. When i reported the issue to the front desk and asked management to put a "do not disturb" on my room because I had a conference call, the housekeeping staff became vindictive by staging their carts outside my room behaving loud and disruptive to my meeting call. When I finally checked out early, I left my power charger behind by accident. I called the hotel later that day and was told "they would investigate". They never returned my call. I found the whole experience unpleasant and will never stay there again. This hotel may work fine for folks who have Spanish as a primary language and are not interested in reliable service.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

You won't get anything fancy, but the rooms are very clean and the price is right. Bathroom fixtures, etc. could use an update but those negatives go away when you close your eyes at night. Breakfast staff is pleasant and does an excellent job of keeping the area tidy. Redwood City Caltrain station is nearby making for an easy commute into the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperopolis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My son and his wife flew in and we spent the day in SF. We stayed here at the end of the day and the room was a surprise. The room very clean, there was wifi, a small refer and coffee maker in the room. There was 24 hour coffee in the office (nice). They said there is a breakfast in the morning and i expected a continental, but was pleasantly surprised at a full breakfast with eggs, breads, cereal, biscuit and gravy, waffles, juices, fruit, yogurt and coffee...... Really nice place and i would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.