We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Save Saved
You added Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean room, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here because my dad was hospitalized at Stanford Hosp. It's about 2 miles from the hosp. We got a Stanford Hospital rate which is considerably cheaper than the regular rate. They will ask for some type of proof of hospital stay to give guarantee the rate. I read the tips from others to ask for a room towards the back and indeed it was a good idea because it's quieter. The room is clean. The fridge and microwave came in handy. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is adequate: Several types of bread, french toast, biscuit and gravy, omelette, yogurt, fruit, and they also have a waffle maker. We would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the backit's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
33
9
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, the franchise got revoked due to horrible service and bad upkeep. I know because I have been there then and now nothing has changed.. Not to mention the RATES ARE OUTRAGEOUS FOR absolutely nothing... DO NOT RECOMMEND!! STAY AWAY unless you have no choice, even your car!

Room Tip: Save yourself the trouble, and look elsewhere other hotels are way better and priced also!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my family was visiting silicon valley and stanford university and stayed in this hotel. The location is very good, very close to standford university. hotel facility is old and price is not cheap,however, compared with other hotels in the area,it is acceptable. the clerks are very nice and friendly. the room is clean. the problems are the noise from the highway and the poor quality food. they don't provide sausage or bacon. milk and juice taste not very well(seems put a lot of water inside). anyway, better than nothing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband was on a business trip and myself and our 1 year old joined him. This hotel was very clean and things appeared to be up to date.The breakfast made of hot and standard items. The bed was very comfortable. Our 1 year old slept easily with there being little external noise. Room was nice and long. Fridge in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The walls here are paper thin, and the first night the couple in the next room was having a very good time, sharing every moan and groan with us until way after midnight. The following night a different couple decided to have what seemed to be a reasonably low key discussion, but hearing every word from 3:30 until 4 am, this did not add to our rest either.

The only other problem was that the room was very dark, and you had to keep the curtains closed as the walkway goes right past the windows, typical motel style. In the bathroom, however, turning on the light automatically turned on a fan at jet plane takeoff volume.

After two nights of this, we were delighted to move to the very wonderful Atherton Inn B and B, just a mile away in a very quiet residential area, at a much lower price. We won't be back to the Park Inn....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This property used to be a Holiday Inn Express and has apparently recently been sold to a private owner. My husband and I stayed Friday and Saturday nights. We found the gentleman working the front desk to be professional, efficient, and welcoming. The grounds were well-maintained and we noticed a staff member raking and doing landscape maintenance both days. Our room (upstairs) was extremely clean, the linens fresh and spotless, the bathroom equally clean and well stocked with bright clean towels. Our tub/shower was also very clean, no specks of mold or dirt, the toilet spotless. The shower head, usually one of the make-or-breaks of a motel room, was a good one; a large Kohler with a spray neither too hard or too wimpy. Our vanity was very well-stocked with the usual soaps, shampoos, etc. There was a clean mini-fridge, noticeably noisy at night, but, in my experience, they usually are. We had a little Keurig coffee maker. There was also a sofa, coffee table, large modern desk with WiFi, phone, charging strip. A great little touch was the lap table for sitting up in bed or on the sofa with your laptop. The breakfast room, with about 10 small tables, was spotless, well-stocked with a great variety of cereals, hot items like french toast and scrambled eggs, waffles, breads, fruit, juices, really good coffee, tea, etc. The lady working in there was friendly and really on top of keeping everything clean and stocked. We used the on-site gym both mornings, had the place all to ourselves. It had plenty of equipment: 4 treadmills, a stationary bike, weights and bench, yoga equipment and free weights. Washer and dryer available in a room just off the gym. Also a restroom to one side.
This property is located on El Camino Real and there's a lot of traffic so, while the room wasn't sound-proof, it wasn't too bad for being so close to this busy street. Finally, we would definitely stay again, we truly liked this place and the nice people who work there.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the back wing would probably be a little quieter. Our room was about halfway back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We attend a Valentine's Day concert in Redwood City every year. This is the first Redwood City hotel we feel good about giving our recommendation. We have stayed at 10 other Redwood City hotels, of all price levels, and this is the best service, and best value. Good room, free breakfast, quiet, great service, free parking, and we will stick with this one next year as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.