We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Save Saved
You added Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent one night during a business trip because of proximity to Lucille Packard Childrens' Hospital and affordable price when compared with closer hotels. Desk staff was very friendly and helpful, including resolution of a reservation issue. Room was clean. El Camino Real is busy street, but noise was not an issue during my visit, especially considering all rooms are outdoor access. Without a vehicle, dining options are limited with only one or two decent restaurants within walking distance, but for one night that was not an issue for me. The complimentary breakfast was typical for HI Express, which is better than many. I will definitely consider this property when future travel needs bring me to this area.

Room Tip: Further from El Camino Real might be better even though noise was not an issue during my brief visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
9
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for the first time a couple of weeks ago for three nights during a business trip. I have stayed in many HIE on the I80 and I94 corridors during vacation drives, but this is the first time in a major metro area. The consistency of the product is very high and positive. The room was spacious and comfortable. The lobby was small but cozy and the daily breakfast was first rate -- good selection and high quality.

The staff seemed very nice and friendly morning and night.

This is a motor lodge, so you are able to park right in front of your room. The hotel was quiet, but the hotel is on El Camino, a fairly busy arterial, so early morning traffic can be heard -- but not too early and I had no problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed one night during a business trip because the hotel is close to where my meeting location was. The rooms are no-frills but perfectly clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. The wifi service was fast and reliable. Ronald at the front desk provided incredible service. He is very friendly guy and was eager to make sure that I was happy. At the end of my trip, I accidentally left behind some very important business cards. I called Ronald and he was able to quickly find them. Even better than snail-mailing them to me, he took the time to type up all of the important information from each card and then send it all to me in an email, just a few hours after I left so that I could have the information right away. Talk about awesome service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a few days and everything was OK. Good service, helpful staff. Breakfast was kind of low key but otherwise OK. What I mean is that being used to the quick Italian breakfast I am usually surprised by the lavishness of breakfasts served in the US and UK, so at this hotel my initial reaction was 'they're missing something'. It was not actually the case, however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I choose this hotel because I like Holiday Inn in general and its close vincinity to Stanford university.I explicitly asked for a two bed room when I made the reservation, but upon arrival the room only have one bed and a sleeping sofa. The helpdesk while apologetic overall, she cannot find another room with two beds, and I have to setup the sleeping sofa myself.
The breakfast is decent but has less choice than other Holiday Inns I went to; the lady there was quite helpful though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Before making a reservation at this hotel, I did alot of researching as I was going solo and wanted to be in a comfortable, safe, clean hotel. I was very pleased to get all that I was looking for. The location is in an older area of Redwood City, but only about 2 miles to the Redwood City downtown area with great little restaurants/shops. The king hotel room was fresh and clean, flat screen TV, microwave, fridge w/freezer, coffee pot and had a sitting area w/sofa. Free breakfast offered pancakes, french toast, sausage, eggs, danishes, bagels, cereal, juice & coffee/tea. Front desk service & breakfast room attendant very attentive and friendly. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was clean and the staff was amazing! The breakfast was good and the lady that worked in the kitchen was super kind and helpful. That front desk staff was helpful and patient. If we are ever in the area again we will chose this hotel.Thank you for contributing to an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.