We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what I expected from a Holiday Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Save Saved
You added Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not at all what I expected from a Holiday Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

First of all, this is a motel, not a hotel. You enter your room from the outside and not through a lobby. The motel is not in the best part of town, the area is dark and the stores surrounding a bit questionable. I did not at all feel comfortable staying in a place where I did not have the protection felt when accessing your room from inside of the hotel. As for the room itself, it was acceptably clean, though the rug seemed quite old and in need of cleaning. The linens were the quality you would normally find in a Holiday Inn Express and the bed and pillows were fine for a few nights. It you're going for a few nights, you will be able to tolerate it, however any longer than that, find another place to stay. If you are a woman traveling by yourself, I suggest you find an alterative place all together. Keep in mind if you have trouble climbing stairs you will need to ask for a room on the first floor as there aren't any elevators. There were choices for breakfast however the choices weren't that appealing, The employees were friendly and tried to be helpful though they didn't appear to have alot of expereince.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you are unable to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
34
9
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times. It is clean and has a good breakfast. The outside rooms can be a little noisy because of the way they face the busy road El Camino. Wish there were more dining options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coburg Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I was thinking it would be larger and a little newer, but it was clean, quiet and well taken care of. The breakfast selection was smaller than other HIE hotels I have visited, but adequate. Not much information in the room about dining availability in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel was not as I expected at first impression but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and modern (with the exception of the CRT-based television) and the staff were courteous. The breakfast selection was also much more than I expected which was nice considering the distance from local Starbucks. Great place for an overnight stay but if your looking for ammenities during a longer stay I would stay closer to San Jose for the money.

Room Tip: Had to "settle" for a ground floor room as I checked in relatively early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

good for a nights sleep - clean room, soft bed, doors open to outdoors

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsbeach,ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed in your Inn on 09/09/2011 and want you to know that everything was wonderful. Service was great. Rooms were very tidy and continental breakfast was wonderfull. I am told that if I send you a review that I would receive a $5 starbucks gift card from you. Is that correct? I will be staying with you once again on Nov. 15th,16th, and 17th. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Location is very quiet. I was able to get a Stanford rate, as my son had surgery at Stanford clinic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was traveling to California for a business trip and arrived early in the morning. Check in time wasn't until later in the afternoon and I wasn't going to be able to get back to the hotel until late in the evening. The front desk staff checked me in early and held onto my bag for me. When I arrived to my room after a long day of workshops, my luggage was already waiting for me. The breakfast selection was great and the cinnamon rolls were delicious. The staff person that worked in the kitchen/breakfast area was extremely nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.