We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and they are updating the rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
Oakhurst, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and they are updating the rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel and there was a lot of construction activity going on. It was because they were hard at work remodeling the hotel.

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered my newly remodeled room. It is great and very modern and comfortable. The bar area in the room has a work area, a refrigerator and microwave which is a great plus and a good size flat screen t.v. on the wall. I'm really impressed.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you JulieLyn F for your feedback about our hotel. We hope you can join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
30
17
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a decent hotel. Last time we stayed here the room was clean and everything worked. This time there were signs of rust on the door frame in the bathroom and hair in the ceiling of the tub/shower. Whatever that means.
We wanted to go exercise, however, there are only 3 machines there...a treadmill, a nordic and a bike... only the bike was working properly. Kind of frustrating...
Not so frustrating (but maybe to some) was that the local channels were not coming in on the TV and Internet wasn't so strong.
We generally don't take advantage of the breakfast included. The eggs taste fake and they have the American style gravy and biscuit...so, can't really complain.
Last time was a 5 star experience for this hotel based on the price point...this time, not so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear 4service,

Thank you for writing a detailed review about our hotel. We continually strive to be the best in our industry. However, it seems that we failed to do so during your stay since you mentioned details about your room condition, and that some of our amenities were not available that time. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Should you be back in Redwood City in the future, we hope to have the chance in hosting you again so you can see the improvements made.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in several Holiday Inn Expresses and I've always had pleasant and comfortable visits. The Holiday Inn Redwood City seems to be the exception to the high standards maintained by the chain.

I booked a three-person room through a booking agent and the hotel staff offered a king sized bed. First, the gentleman claimed that there were no rooms with two double-beds available then he offered to charge me nearly 100% of the original cost of the room to "upgrade" to a room with two beds.

When you book a room for three people, you don't expect to have to share one bed or sleep on a sofa. Perhaps this is a problem to be disputed between the booking agent and the hotel - but it's bad business to a) lie and b) treat third party site users as second class.

If you want to use booking agents to dynamically price your rooms, don't fault the customer!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear wfassett,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks for work and will be staying again soon. Beds were comfy and breakfast was good. Nancy in the breakfast area made my mornings. Rooms were freshly renovated and very modern and clean.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is under construction, but only during the day. If you plan on staying in your room al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you Mikhetosk for your stay with us at the Holiday INn Express-Redwood City. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here with my family and it was a great place to stay. Staff was very nice it was convienently located and VERY CLEAN. The bed was so comfortable, i never sleep good in hotels because the beds are horrible but this was the exception. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. The breakfast included with the stay was really much better than I expected. It had a very good variety and was very tasty for a free breakfast. Most importantly i will repeat it was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Dennis,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We genuinely appreciate your honesty in our time of renovation. I will be sure to share your words with our Housekeeping and Breakfast staff. I hope to see you and your family again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia suburbs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Flying from the east coast on an overnight flight with final destination being Ventana in Big Sur, we wanted a place to crash after arriving at SFO. We booked this hotel online based on a careful weighing of location, free parking, decor, and reviews. As we pulled into the hotel parking garage we noticed a man rando milling about-which is auto suspicious given the hour (middle of the night). Then I saw he had a box of cereal in one hand a gallon of milk in the other so guess he just had the munchies.

The welcome from the front desk represntative was warm and check-in was a breeze. We were given two bottles of water, our key, and information on the next morning's comp breakfast.

One never knows for sure what to expect when checking into a hotel-especially one youve chosen "just for the night" and might not ordinarily choose for a longer stay. And while I still wouldnt choose it for a vacation homebase (purely because it has a more "corporate" than "stylish" vibe), the room was perfect! I love the extra touches like the personalized letter from the manager, the hand-written Happy Holidays note from housekeeping, the paper bows on the toilet paper, and even though they arent our thing (not that toilet paper bows necessarily are), the towel animal greeting us from the foot of the bed. And they had a special remote control that helped eliminate germs which I have not seen before but welcomed as I remember seeing one of those "special reports" re germs in hotel rooms and, yep, the clicker was a hot spot. Ew. Finally, and most importantly, the room was clean clean clean.

The only downside to our stay, and I hate to even mention a downside, was that the refrigerator made a humming sound that woke us up throughout the night. When the heat was running it would block out the hum but each time the heat stopped the hum would wake us up. We compared stories the next morning and laughed to learn we both had considered ways to address this but we had been too tired to even get out of bed. So the room was great, the sleep was not.

Breakfast the next morning was not a disappointment. I imagine we have all experienced a range of quality when it comes to a complimentary breakfast. They had a great array of cereals, pastries, fruits, yogurts, breads, and, yes, even soy milk! That last one really was a nice surprise (dont normally see it offered at comp bfast)! We laughed and werent sure whether to give thanks to Holiday Inn or to California as a whole!

Because we felt such care was put into our welcome and our room we left a generous gratuity and also relayed our pleasure to reception upon departure.

I would def rec/stay again!!!

To read more about our travels check out our blog at chrisandcarrieseetheworld.blogspot.com

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Chrisandcarrie S.,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Redwood City. It is wonderful to hear that we can make each one of your stays memorable. We are honored to have been your choice hotel when traveling to the San Francisco Bay Area. I will be sure to share your kind words with all of our staff, especially our Houskeeping staff. We greatly appreciate your understanding during our time in renovation. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I’ve stayed in several HI Express hotels and this is below the average level. Breakfast is just fine, a small room with few tables and few options to select (less than the typical HI Express breakfast).
The room is standard with a good bed, but the AC was very noisy so I had to turn it off at night.
The hotel is located at El Camino Real, but is not a very nice area. There aren´t many restaurants around, so I have to drive to Palo Alto to have more choices to select.
The price/quality ratio is not very good, but this is typical on the area that is very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Ooliveira1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We hope to see you again soon and and hope that next time you can stop by the front desk for a quick chat about local dining options in Redwood City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.